Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


Mitgliederverzeichnis | Expertensuche


Tamás F. Freund

Wahljahr: 2001
Sektion: Neurowissenschaften
Stadt: Budapest
Land: Ungarn
CV Tamás F. Freund - PDF (English)


Tamás F. Freund’s work has provided important contributions to our understanding of how neuronal microcircuits process and store information, which represents one of the ultimate objectives of brain research. His main scientific interest is the synaptic and molecular organization, functional architecture and physiology of neuronal circuits in the cerebral cortex and related structures, the network basis of behaviour-dependent population discharge patterns in the hippocampus, the changes in neuronal connectivity/chemical architecture underlying addiction or epileptic and ischemic brain damage, the mechanisms of endocannabinoid signaling and its relationship with anxiety.  Under his directorship the Institute of Experimental Medicine became one of the leading multidisciplinary neuroscience centres in Europe.


  • since 2002 Director, Institute of Experimental Medicine, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
  • since 2000 Professor, and Head of Department of Neurosciences, Péter Pázmány Catholic University,  Budapest, Hungary
  • 1994-2002 Deputy Director, Institute of Experimental Medicine, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
  • 1986-1988 Senior Research Fellow of Neuropharmacology at the MRC Anatomical Neuropharmacology Unit, Department of Pharmacology, Oxford University, UK
  • 1983-1986 Junior Research Fellow of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, 1st, Department of Anatomy, Semmelweis University Medical School, Budapest, Hungary
  • 1984 Ph.D. in neuroscience,  Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary
  • 1978-1983 MSc. Biology faculty,  Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest, Hungary


  • since 2011 Member, Committee on Committees of the Society for Neuroscience, USA
  • since 2011 Chair, Young Investigator Award Selection Committe, Society for Neuroscience, USA
  • since 2009 President of the Hungarian Neuroscience Society
  • 2004-2006 President of the Federation of European Neuroscience Societies (FENS)
  • 1999-2004 Chairman of the Internationa Brain Research Organization (IBRO) Central and Eastern European Regional Committee
  • 1998-2004 Executive Committee member of International Brain Research Organization (IBRO)
  • 1997-2003 Chairman of the Neuroscience Committee of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Honours and Memberships

  • 2011 The Brain Prize, Grete Lundbeck Foundation, Denmark
  • 2009 Pro Doctorandis Díj, Federation of Doctoral Students of Hungary
  • 2008 Prima Primissima Awards, Hungary:  Prima Award in Science Category
  • 2007 Kavli Distinguished International Scientist Lecture, Soc. for Neurosci, USA
  • 2007 Scientists of the Year, Award of Science Writers Club of Hungary
  • 2007 Semmelweis Award, Semmelweis Medical School, Budapest, Hungary
  • 2005 Széchenyi Prize, Hungarian Republic
  • 2004 Regular Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • 2003 Honoris Causa Pro Sciencia Gold Medal, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • 2001 Member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2001 Member of Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea
  • 2000 Member of Academia Europaea
  • 2000 Bolyai Prize, Bolyai Prize Foundation, Hungary
  • 1999 Ábrahám Ambrus Award, József Attila University, Szeged, Hungary
  • 1998 Corresponding Member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • 1998 Dargut and Milena Kemali Foundation Award, FENS Forum, Berlin, Germany
  • 1998  KRIEG CORTICAL KUDOS Cortical Discoverer Award and the Cajal Medal of the Cajal Club, USA
  • 1997 Academy Award, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
  • 1991 Drs. C. and F. Demuth Swiss Medical Research Foundation Award, Switzerland
  • 1991 KRIEG CORTICAL KUDOS Cortical Explorer Award of the Cajal Club, USA




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Tel. 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org


Academia Net

Profile exzellenter Wissenschaftlerinnen bei AcademiaNet – eine Initiative der Robert Bosch Stiftung.