Leopoldina Home



The Leopoldina’s Senate represents the interests of the Academy’s members before the Presidium and advises the Presidium. It currently has 39 members, 26 of whom are elected spokespersons, each representing one of the sections of the Academy. In addition, there are two elected members who represent the Academy’s members in Austria and Switzerland, respectively. Members of the Senate are elected for a term of four years and can be re-elected once.

The Senate generally convenes once a year. During these meetings, the Senate, in accordance with the statutes, elects members of the Presidium and honorary members, checks the Presidium’s annual reports and approves its actions, appoints auditors and decides on the expulsion of members. In addition, the Senate approves regulations governing the election of Academy members, spokespersons and regional representatives, members of the Senate and their deputies, and members of the Presidium, as well as structural regulations for the sections and adjunct territories.

No. Sections Elected Senators (Academy Members)  
1 Mathematics Prof. Dr. Gisbert Wüstholz, Zurich  
2 Informatics Prof. Dr. Bernhard Nebel, Freiburg  
3 Physics Prof. Dr. Paul Leiderer, Konstanz  
4 Chemistry Prof. Dr. Gerhard Erker, Münster  
5 Earth Sciences Prof. Dr. Wolf Dieter Blümel, Stuttgart  
6 Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences Prof. Dr. Klaus Eder, Gießen  
8 Organismic and Evolutionary Biology Prof. Dr. Eberhard Schäfer, Freiburg  
9 Genetics/Molecular Biology and Cell Biology Prof. Dr. Lothar Willmitzer, Potsdam  
10 Biochemistry and Biophysics Prof. Dr. Alfred Wittinghofer, Dortmund  
11 Anatomy and Anthropology Prof. Dr. Detlev Drenckhahn, Würzburg  
12 Pathology and Forensic Medicine Prof. Dr. Hans K. Müller-Hermelink, Würzburg  
13 Microbiology and Immunology Prof. Dr. Michael Hecker, Greifswald  
14 Human Genetics and Molecular Medicine Prof. Dr. Claus R. Bartram, Heidelberg  
15 Physiology and Pharmacology/Toxicology Prof. Dr. Franz Hofmann, München  
16 Internal Medicine and Dermatology Prof. Dr. Thomas Krieg, Köln  
17 Surgery, Orthopaedics, Anaesthesiology Prof. Dr. Jörg R. Siewert, Freiburg i. Br.  
18 Gynaecology and Paediatrics Prof. Dr. Walter Jonat, Kiel  
19 Neurosciences Prof. Dr. Michael Frotscher, Freiburg  
20 Ophthalmology, Oto-Rhino-Laryngology and Stomatology Prof. Dr. Gottfried Schmalz, Regensburg  
21 Radiology Prof. Dr. Karl-Jürgen Wolf, Berlin  
22 Veterinary Medicine Prof. Dr. Hartwig Bostedt, Gießen  
23 History of Science and Medicine Prof. Dr. Alfons Labisch, Düsseldorf  
24 Epistemology Prof. Dr. Gereon Wolters, Konstanz  
25 Economics and Empirical Social Sciences Prof. Dr. Andreas Diekmann, Zürich  
26 Psychology and Cognitive Sciences Prof. Dr. Klaus Fiedler, Heidelberg  
27 Engineering Sciences Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch, Freiburg  
28 Cultural Sciences Prof. Dr. Otfried Höffe, Tübingen  

Senators of the adjunct territories Austria and Switzerland

Besides the senators elected by the sections and districts, the statutes allow for the Senate to include up to ten additional members, who do not necessarily have to be members of the Academy.   Five of these ten additional members are elected ad personam; they are generally selected from the ranks of those holding senior positions in research organisations or other scientific institutions. The other five additional members are elected ex officio; these are the presidents of five major German scientific and academic organisations: the German Research Foundation, the Max Planck Society, the German Rectors’ Conference (HRK), the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, and the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities.

Honorary Members of the Senate

  • Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner (Board of directors, Boehringer Ingelheim Gmbh)
  • Dr. Andreas J. Büchting (Chairman Supervisory Board, KWS SAAT AG, Einbeck)
  • Prof. Dr. Michal Kleiber (Institute of Fundamental Technological Research of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw)
  • Dr. Wilhelm Krull (Secretary-General Volkswagen Foundation, Hannover)
  • Prof. Dr. Ursula Peters (Professor, Institut für Deutsche Sprache und Literatur, University of Cologne)

Presidents of research organisations or research funding institutions

  • German Research Foundation, Prof. Dr. Peter Strohschneider, Bonn
  • Max Planck Society, Prof. Dr. Martin Stratmann, München
  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Prof. Dr. Helmut Schwarz, Berlin
  • German Rectors’ Conference, Prof. Dr. Horst Hippler, Karlsruhe
  • Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities, Prof. Dr. Dr. Hanns Hatt, Bochum

Honorary Senators

  • Dr. Hans-Dietrich Genscher



Dr. Jörg Beineke

Senior Scientific Coordinator

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 954
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 919
E-Mail joerg.beineke @leopoldina.org

Member Search