Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Andreas Plückthun

Year of election: 2003
Section: Biochemistry and Biophysics
City: Zurich
Country: Switzerland
CV Andreas Plückthun - Deutsch (PDF)


Andreas Plückthun has made ground-breaking contributions to protein engineering and to the directed evolution of proteins. His study on the expression and folding of functional antibodies in E. coli is considered one of the foundations of modern antibody engineering and synthetic antibody libraries. His development of the technology of ribosome display made the rapid directed evolution of proteins reality. The design of alternative protein scaffolds for binding (Designed Repeat Proteins) has greatly expanded the possibilities of developing novel specific binding proteins for science, technology and medicine.


  • 2014 Mitgründer von G7 Therapeutics (heute Heptares Zurich), Zürich, Schweiz
  • 2004 Mitgründer und Verwaltungsrat der Molecular Partners AG, Zürich, Schweiz
  • seit 1993 Professor am Biochemischen Institut der Universität Zürich, Schweiz
  • 1992-1993 Gruppenleiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie, Martinsried
  • 1992 Mitgründer der Biotechfirma MorphoSys AG, Martinsried
  • 1989 Habilitation in Biochemie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU), München
  • 1985-1991 Gruppenleiter am Genzentrum der Universität München, Martinsried
  • 1982-1985 Postdoktorand am Institut für Chemie und Chemische Biologie der Harvard University, Cambridge, USA
  • 1982 Promotion an der University of California San Diego, La Jolla, USA
  • 1975-1978 Studium der Chemie an der Universität Heidelberg


  • 2003-2008 DFG-Projekt „Struktur und Funktion spezifischer Membranproteine“
  • 2001-2013 SNF Projekt NCCR „Structural Biology - Molecular Life Sciences: Three Dimensional Structure, Folding and Interactions“
  • 2009-2015 SNF Projekt Sinergia „Structure-based design of Armadillo Repeat Proteins“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2016 Christian B. Anfinsen Award of the Protein Society
  • 2010 Advanced Investigator‘s Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrats (ERC)
  • 2005 de Vigier Award, gemeinsam mit dem Team von Molecular Partners AG
  • 2005 Swiss Technology Award, gemeinsam mit dem Team von Molecular Partners AG
  • seit 2003 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2002 Grand Prix du Jury, Grand Prix Européen d´Innovation, Monaco
  • 2002 Wilhelm Exner-Medaille
  • 2002 JP Morgan Chase Health Award
  • 2001 Mitglied des World Technology Network (WTN), Finalist in World Technology Awards
  • 2000 Karl-Heinz Beckurts Preis für Wissenschaften und Technologie
  • seit 1992 Mitglied der European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
  • 1990 Dozentenpreis des Fonds der Chemischen Industrie




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Expert Search

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.