Leopoldina Home

Standing Committees

Science and Ethics

Just like any other kind of human activity, the way scientists conduct research raises ethical questions. These pertain to the standards of good scientific practice and to the opportunities and risks that arise from the public dissemination and technical application of new research findings. The commission uses its expertise to inform the way it addresses urgent questions concerning scientific activities.


  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Dieter Birnbacher ML
    Institut für Philosophie, Universität Düsseldorf
  • Prof. Dr. Volker Gerhardt
    Lehrstuhl für Praktische Philosophie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Paul Hoyningen-Huene ML
    Institut für Philosophie, Center for Philosophy and Ethics of Science (ZEWW), Leibniz Universität Hannover
  • Prof. Dr. Otfried Höffe ML
    Philosophisches Seminar, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Huster
    Lehrstuhl für Öffentliches Recht, Sozial- und Gesundheitsrecht und Rechtsphilosophie, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • Prof. Dr. Jan C. Joerden
    Lehrstuhl für Strafrecht, Europa-Universität Viadrina, Frankfurt (Oder) (Spokesperson)
  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Graf von Kielmansegg
    Institut für Öffentliches Wirtschaftsrecht, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel
  • Prof. Dr. Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard ML
    Max-Planck-Institut für Entwicklungsbiologie, Tübingen
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Propping ML
    Institut für Humangenetik, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
  • Prof. Dr. Bettina Schöne-Seifert ML
    Lehrstuhl für Ethik in der Medizin, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Tanner ML
    Systematische Theologie und Ethik, Ruprechts-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
  • Prof. Dr. Silja Vöneky
    Institut für Öffentliches Recht, Abteilung 2 (Völkerrecht und Rechtsvergleichung), Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät, Universität Freiburg
  • Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Wolfrum ML
    Max-Planck-Institut für ausländisches öffentliches Recht und Völkerrecht, Heidelberg
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Zenner ML
    Lehrstuhl für HNO-Heilkunde, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen (Spokesperson)

ML = Member of the Leopoldina



Dr. Stefanie Westermann

Scientific Officer, Department Science - Policy - Society

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 871
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 839
E-Mail stefanie.westermann @leopoldina.org

Classes and Sections

The members of the Leopoldina are organized in 28 sections that are grouped in four classes.