Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


Mitgliederverzeichnis | Expertensuche

Prof. Dr.

Itamar Procaccia

Wahljahr: 2002
Sektion: Physik
Stadt: Rehovot
Land: Israel
CV Itamar Procaccia - English (pdf)


Hauptarbeitsgebiete: Nonequilibrium-Thermodynamik; Statistische Mechanik; stochastische Theorien; Instabilitäten; nonlineare Systeme und chaotische Bewegungen; Turbulenz und turbulente Transportprozesse; Fraktale in der Physik


  • Since 2004 Director, Minerva Center for Nonlinear Physics
  • 1992-2006 Adjunct Professor, NORDITA, Copenhagen,   Denmark
  • 1989-2001 Dean, Faculty of Chemistry,  The Weizmann Institute of Science
  • 1987-1988 Head, Department of Chemical Physics, The Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Since 1985 Professor, Department of Chemical Physics,  The Weizmann Institute of Science
  • 1980-1984 Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Physics, The Weizmann Institute of Science
  • 1979-1980 Senior Scientist, Department of Chemical Physics, The Weizmann Institute of Science
  • 1977-1979 Postdoctoral Fellow, Massachusetts Institute of  Technology
  • 1976 Ph.D. in Theoretical Chemistry, Hebrew University, Jerusalem
  • 1975-1976 Teaching assistant, Hebrew University, Jerusalem
  • 1973 B.Sc. in Chemistry (with honors), Hebrew University, Jerusalem



  •  Chairman, steering committee of a Center of Excellence of the Ministry of Science
  •  Member, the committee on Statistical Physics of IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics)
  • Since 2009 President of the Academic Advisory Committee, International Institute of Physics, Natal, Brazil
  • 2007-2009 The committee for the Alon Fellowships (Government fellowships for returning Israeli academics after   post-doctoral training)
  • 2006-2009 President, Scientific Committee of the International Center of Condensed Matter Physics,Brasilia, Brazil
  • Since 2006 Member of the Board of Governors, The Institute for Complex Adaptive Matter (A Multi-campus     Research Program of the University of California)
  • Since 2004 Fellow of the World Innovation Foundation
  • Since 2000 Member, Centro Internacional de Ciencias (CIC), Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico
  • 2000     Member, Prize Committee for the Young European Prize in Mathematics
  • 1996-2006 Member, Scientific Committee of International Center of Condensed Matter Physics, Brasilia, Brazil
  • 1995-2000 UNESCO Professor in Science and Sustainable Development
  • 1987/1992/1999 Fellow of the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science

Honours and Memberships

  • 2012 Conferred PhD honoris causa, The University of Rio Grande do Norte, Natal, Brazil
  • 2010 The European Research Council “Advanced” grant
  • 2010 Elected Foreign Member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters
  • 2009 The Israel Prize for Physics
  • 2005 The Weizmann Prize
  • Since 2002 Fellow of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • Since 2002 Fellow of the American Physical Society
  • 2002 “Euroattractor 2002”, Polish Academy of Sciences for “Life achievements in Nonlinear Dynamics”, Warsaw
  • 1998 The “Fiorino d’Oro”, the highest prize given by the Municipality of Florence for outstanding achievements in science, culture and human affairs
  • 1995 Award of the Royal Society, UK
  • 1989 The E.D. Bergman Prize Administered by the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
  • 1982 The S. Sachs Prize
  • 1977-1978 Dr. Chaim Weizmann Postdoctoral Fellowship
  • 1977 The Aharon Katchalsky (Katzir) Prize
  • 1976 The G.Y. Yashinsky Prize for Distinguished Thesis
  • 1972 Israel Chemical Society Prize




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Tel. 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org


Academia Net

Profile exzellenter Wissenschaftlerinnen bei AcademiaNet – eine Initiative der Robert Bosch Stiftung.