Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home



The academic structure of the Leopoldina consists of classes and sections. Depending on their particular area of research, all Academy members belong to one of the 28 specialised sections, which are grouped into four classes. Introduced in 2009, this grouping of sections into classes fosters discussion between the disciplines and encourages active participation in Academy life.

Class I: Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Engineering

No.Name of Section
5Earth Sciences
27Engineering Sciences

Spokesperson: Prof. Gerhard Erker (Section 4), Deputy: Stellvertreterin: Prof. Johanna Stachel, Heidelberg (Sektion 3)

Class II: Life Sciences

No.Name of Section
6Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences
8Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
9Genetics/Molecular Biology and Cell Biology
10Biochemistry and Biophysics
13Microbiology and Immunology
14Human Genetics and Molecular Medicine
15Physiology and Pharmacology/Toxicology

Spokesperson: Prof. Roland Lill, Marburg (Section 10), Deputy: Prof. Regine Kahmann, Marburg (Section 9)

Class III: Medicine

No.Name of Section
7Global Health (in foundation)
11Anatomy and Anthropology
12Pathology and Forensic Medicine
16Internal Medicine and Dermatology
17Surgery, Orthopaedics, Anaesthesiology
18Gynaecology and Paediatrics
20Ophthalmology, Oto-Rhino-Laryngology and Stomatology
22Veterinary Medicine

Spokesperson: Prof. Barbara Wollenberg, Munich (Section 20), Deputy: Prof. H. K. Müller-Hermelink, Würzburg (Section 12)

Class IV: Humanities, Social and Behavioural Sciences

No.Name of Section
23History of Science and Medicine
25Economics and Empirical Social Sciences
26Psychology and Cognitive Sciences
28Cultural Sciences

Spokesperson: Prof. Otfried Höffe, Tübingen (Section 28), Deputy: Prof. Andreas Diekmann, Zurich (Section 25)




Dr. Jörg Beineke

Senior Scientific Coordinator

Phone 0345 47 239 - 954
Fax 0345 47 239 - 919
E-Mail joerg.beineke @leopoldina.org