Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


Stifterverband for German Science

As a joint initiative started by companies and foundations, Stifterverband is devoted entirely to consult-ing, networking, and promoting improvements in the fields of education, science, and innovation. Since 2009, Stifterverband has jointly awarded the Carl-Friedrich-von-Weizsäcker-Prize with the German Na-tional Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.

The prize is endowed with €50,000 provided by Stifterverband. It is awarded every other year to scien-tists or research teams for their contribution to the scientific exploration of socially important chal-lenges. It is traditionally awarded during the Leopoldina Christmas Lecture.

In 2012, education researcher Prof. Dr. Jürgen Baumert was honored, in 2014 Prof. Dr. Ferdi Schüth, in 2016 psychologist Dr. Maggie Schauer and psychologist Prof. Dr. Thomas Elbert, in 2018 metabolic re-searcher Prof. Dr. Jens C. Brüning and in 2020 labor market and migration economist Christian Dust-mann. The first Weizsäcker Prize was awarded in 2009 to scientist and civil rights activist Prof. Dr. Jens Reich.