Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Hans Jürgen Schlitt

Year of election: 2011
Section: Surgery, Orthopaedics and Anaesthesiology
City: Regensburg
Country: Germany
CV Hans Schlitt - Deutsch (PDF)


Professor Hans J. Schlitt is surgeon with strong clinical and scientific interests in the fields of oncologic surgery, transplant surgery, and surgery of liver and pancreas. Following his surgical training at the Medical School Hannover, he was appointed Chair of Surgery at the University of Sydney, Australia. Since 2003 he is Chair of Surgery and Director of the Department of Surgery at Regensburg University Medical Center. He has published seminal papers in the areas of transplant immunology, liver and pancreatic surgery, as well as on oncology. Prof. Schlitt is speaker of a collaborative research project on organ transplantation, coordinator of innovative clinical studies, and has initiated multiple research projects in the areas mentioned above. He is particularly devoted to translational research.


  • seit 2003 Lehrstuhlinhaber für Chirurgie und Direktor der Chirurgischen Klinik am Universitätsklinikum Regensburg, Deutschland
  • 2002 Berufung auf einen chirurgischen Lehrstuhl an der University of Sydney, Australia
  • 1999 außerplanmäßige Ernennung zum Professor
  • 1994 Facharztanerkennung für Chirurgie und Habilitation
  • 1986-1988 chirurgische Facharztausbildung an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover
  • 1986 Staatsexamen in Medizin, Approbation, Promotion zum Dr. med.


  • seit 2005 Mitglied des Geschäftsführenden Präsidiums und Referatsleiter Viszeralchirurgie, Berufsverband der Deutschen Chirurgen
  • seit 2005 Vorsitzender der Fachkommission Chirurgie/Orthopädie, Bayerische Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Qualitätssicherung
  • seit 2004 Ausschuss-Mitglied der Vereinigung Bayerischer Chirurgen
  • 2007-2017 Mitglied im Beirat der Gesellschaft für Gastroenterologie in Bayern
  • 2011-2013 Vorsitzender der Chirurgischen Arbeitsgemeinschaft Transplantation
  • 2009-2013 Stellv. Vorsitzender der Chirurgischen AG Leber/Gallenwege/Pankreas
  • 2007-2013 Stellv. Vorsitzender der Chirurgischen AG Transplantation (CAT) der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Allgemein- und Viszeralchirurgie
  • 2011 Vorsitzender der Gesellschaft für Gastroenterologie in Bayern
  • 2011 Präsident der Deutschen Arbeitsgemeinschaft zum Studium der Leber
  • 2010-2011 Mitglied der Bundesfachgruppe Lebertransplantation und Lebendspende, AQUA-Institut
  • 2009-2011 Vorsitzender der Organkommission Leber der Deutschen Transplantationsgesellschaft
  • 2009-2011 Prodekan der Fakultät für Medizin, Universität Regensburg
  • 2007-2011 Schatzmeister der European Society for Organ Transplantation
  • 2005-2010 Stellv. Vorsitzender der Deutschen Transplantationsgesellschaft
  • 2005-2007 Council Member der European Society for Organ Transplantation
  • 2005-2006 Vorsitzender der Vereinigung Bayerischer Chirurgen


  • seit 2010 Sprecher der DFG-Klinischen Forschergruppe 243 „Early determinants of late transplant outcome (ELITE)“
  • 2010-2014 DFG-Projekt „Comparing the early immunological responses of liver transplant recipients treated under a bottom-up immunosuppressive regimen utilising either CsA or Everolimus“
  • 2006-2014 DFG-Projekt „Use of Monocyte-Derived Cells to Control Autoimmune Reactions in Patients with Chronic Inflammatory Bowel Disease“
  • 1992-2003 DFG-Projekt „Induktion zentraler und peripherer Transplantattoleranz durch alloantigen-exprimierende hämatopoetische Zellen“
  • 1992-2002 Sekretär des DFG-Sonderforschungsbereichs 265 „Immunreaktionen und Pathomechanismen bei Organtransplantation“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • seit 2011 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • seit 2007 Ehrenmitglied der Jordanian Surgical Society
  • 2002 Forschungspreis der Deutschen Arbeitsgemeinschaft zum Studium der Leber
  • 2000 Sir Hans Krebs-Preis für medizinische Grundlagenforschung der Gesellschaft der Freunde der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover
  • 2000 Von Langenbeck-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Chirurgie
  • 2000 Ehrenprofessur an der Staatlichen Medizinischen Akademie Kirow, Russland
  • 1999 Rudolf Schoen-Preis für klinische Forschung
  • 1994 Forschungspreis der Deutschen Transplantationsgesellschaft
  • 1994 Young Investigators‘ Award der Transplantation Society
  • 1988 Josef Schneider-Preis der Universität Würzburg




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Expert Search

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.