Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Matthias Tschöp

Year of election: 2013
Section: Agricultural and Nutritional Sciences
City: Munich
Country: Germany
CV Matthias Tschöp - Deutsch (pdf)
CV Matthias Tschöp - English (pdf)


Matthias Tschöp’s research focuses on dissecting the molecular underpinnings of diabetes and obesity in order to discover new preventive and therapeutic approaches for the metabolic syndrome. One of his areas of interest is the role of gut-brain communication as a key circuitry that regulates adiposity, glucose homeostasis and energy metabolism. Currently, the IDO team is aiming to develop innovative interdisciplinary approaches in collaboration with physicists, engineers and chemists for the personalized prevention and treatment of obesity, diabetes and concomitant diseases.


  • since 2012 Adjunct Professor, Yale University, USA
  • 2012 Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, Technische Universität München
  • since 2011 Professor for Metabolic Diseases, Technische Universität München
  • since 2011 Research Director of the Helmholtz Diabetes Center and Director of the Institute for Diabetes and Obesity
  • 2010-2011 Arthur Russell Morgan Chair of Medicine, University of Cincinnati, College of Medicine
  • 2009-2011 Research Director, Cincinnati Diabetes & Obesity Centre, University of Cincinnati, College of Medicine
  • since 2009 Professor, Institute for Metabolic Diseases, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism, Dept. of Medicine, University of Cincinnati, College of Medicine
  • 2003-2009 Associate Professor, Dept. of Psychiatry & Medicine, Obesity Research Center & Genome Research Institute, Univ. of Cincinnati, OH, US (Tenure since 2007)
  • since 2003 Guest Scientist, Department Pharmacology, Deutsches Institut für Ernährungsforschung (DIfE), Potsdam-Nuthetal, Germany
  • 2002-2003 Scientist, Department Pharmacology, Deutsches Institut für Ernährungsforschung (DIfE), Potsdam-Nuthetal, Germany
  • 1999-2002 Postdoctoral Researcher, Discovery Research, Lilly Research Laboratories, Eli Lilly and Co., Indianapolis, US
  • 1995-1999 Researcher, Neuroendokrinologische Arbeitsgruppe des Klinikums Innenstadt, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 1995-1999 Assistant Physician, Klinikum Innenstadt der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 1987-1994 Studies in Medicine, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (doctoral dissertation 1998)


  • since 2014 Member, Kommission nach § 15 Abs. 1 TierSchG. der Regierung von Oberbayern
  • since 2013 Elected member of the Helmholtz Think Tank, Helmholtz Association
  • since 2013 Member, Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) of the Technische Universität München
  • since 2013 Scientific Advisor to Böhringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co. KG and Bionorica SE


  • 2017 Carus Meda of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2014 Erwin Schrödinger Prize
  • 2014 Paul Martini Prize, Paul Martini Foundation
  • 2014 Linda and Jack Gill Distinguished Scientist Award, Linda and Jack Gill Center for Biomolecular Science at Indiana University
  • 2012 Werner-Creutzfeld-Award, German Diabetes Society
  • 2012 Alexander von Humboldt Professorship
  • 2011 Outstanding Scientific Achievement Award, American Diabetes Association
  • 2010 NIH/NIDDK 60th Anniversary Scholar Award
  • 2010 André Mayer Award, Int. Association for the Study of Obesity (IASO)
  • 2007 Scientific Achievement Award, The Obesity Society (TOS/NAASO)




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Expert Search

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.