Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Anton Zeilinger

Year of election: 2005
Section: Physics
City: Vienna
Country: Austria
CV Anton Zeilinger English (pdf)


Anton Zeilinger beschäftigt sich mit Problemen der Quanteninformation und deren Anwendungsmöglichkeit in Quantencomputern. Sein Interessengebiet reicht aber weit über den Bereich Physik hinaus und umfasst neben den Natur- auch die Kulturwissenschaften.

Anton Zeilinger studierte Physik und Mathematik an der Universität Wien und wurde 1971 promoviert. 1979 folgte die Habilitation an der TU Wien, 1981-83 war er außerordentlicher Gastprofessor der Physik am M.I.T., ab 1983 außerordentlicher Professor an der TU Wien. Nach Professuren in München und Innsbruck ist Zeilinger seit 1999 Professor für Experimentalphysik an der Universität Wien und seit 2004 wissenschaftlicher Direktor des Wiener Instituts für Quantenoptik und Quanteninformation (IQOQI) der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (ÖAW). Seit 2013 ist er Präsident der ÖAW.


  • since 2004 Director, IQOQI Vienna, Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna, Austria
  • since 1999 Full Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Vienna, Austria
  • 1990-1999 Full Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • 1988-1989 Full Professor of Physics, Technical University of Munich, Germany
  • 1983-1990 Associate Professor, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • 1981-1983 Associate Professor of Physics, M.I.T. (Visiting), USA
  • 1979-1983 Assistant Professor, Institute of Atomic and Subatomic Physics Vienna, Austria
  • 1979 Habilitation, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • 1977-1978 Research Associate (Fulbright Fellow) at M.I.T. in the Neutron Diffraction Laboratory under Prof. C.G. Shull (Nobel Laureate 1994), USA
  • 1972-1979 Research Assistant, Institute of Atomic and Subatomic Physics Vienna, Austria with Professor Helmut Rauch
  • 1971 Ph.D., University of Vienna, Austria; thesis on "Neutron Depolarization in Dysprosium Single Crystals" under Prof. H. Rauch
  • 1963-1971 Study of Physics and Mathematics, University of Vienna, Austria


  • since 2013 President, Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • since 2009 President, International Academy Traunkirchen, Austria
  • since 2008 Member, Planning and Strategy Committee of the Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • since 2006 Vice Chair, Board of Trustees, Institute of Science and Technology of Austria
  • since 2006 Member, Executive Board, Institute of Science and Technology of Austria
  • 2006-2009 Dean of the Faculty of Physics, University of Vienna, Austria
  • 2006-2008 Member, Editoral Board, New Journal of Physics
  • since 2004 Scientific Director, Institute of Quantum Optics and Quantum Information Vienna, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • 2002-2003 Member, Founding Convent, University of Vienna, Austria
  • 2002 Initiator of a new Postgraduate Research Institution which has been implemented as Institute of Science and Technology in Austria
  • 1997-1998 President, Austrian Physical Society
  • 1996-1998 Member, Quantum Electronics and Optics Division, European Physical Society
  • 1994-2000 Member, Editorial Board, Physical Review A
  • since 1988 Member, Editorial Board, Foundations of Physics

Honours and Memberships

  • 2019 Micius Quantum Prize, together with Jian-Wei Pan
  • 2013 Urania Medal
  • 2013 “Großer Tiroler Adler-Orden”, Tyrol, Austria
  • 2012 Finalist, World Technology Award for Communications Technology
  • 2012 Fellow, American Assoc. for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  • 2011 Full Member, Academia Europaea
  • 2010 Wolf Prize in Physics, Wolf Foundation, Israel
  • 2009 Great Cross of Merit with Star of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • 2009 Foreign Member, Académie des Sciences, Institut de France
  • 2008 ERC Advanced Grant, European Research Council
  • 2008 Quantum Communication Award, Tamagawa University, Japan
  • 2008 Inaugural Isaac Newton Medal, Institute of Physics, UK
  • 2007 Quantum Electronics Prize, European Physical Society
  • 2006 Foreign Member, Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • 2006 Honorary Doctorate, Gdansk University, Poland
  • 2006 Grand Gold Decoration, City of Vienna, Austria
  • 2005 Wilhelm Exner Medal, Austrian Association for Enterprises
  • 2005 Honorary Member, Slovak Academy of Sciences
  • 2005 Member, German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2005 Honorary Doctorate, Humboldt University Berlin, Germany
  • 2005 King Faisal Prize, King Faisal Foundation, Saudi Arabia
  • 2005 Descartes Prize, European Commission
  • 2004 Lorenz Oken Medal, Society of German Researchers and Physicians, Germany
  • 2004 Klopsteg Award, American Association of Physics Teachers, USA
  • 2003 Sartorius Prize, Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Germany
  • 2002 Member, Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Germany
  • 2002 Johannes Kepler Prize, Science Prize of Upper Austria
  • 2001 Decoration of Sciences and Arts (Austrian equivalent to the Order of Merit)
  • 2001 Visionary of the Year in Science
  • 2001 Order Pour le Mérite for Sciences and Arts, Germany
  • 2000 Science Prize, City of Vienna, Austria
  • 2000 Member, Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea
  • 2000 Senior Humboldt Fellow Prize, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany
  • 1999 Fellow, American Physical Society
  • 1998 Full Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • 1997 European Optics Prize, European Optical Society
  • 1997 Kardinal Innitzer Honorary Prize, Vienna, Austria
  • 1996 Austrian Scientist of the Year
  • 1996 Honorary Professor, University of Science and Technology of China
  • 1995 Prix Vinci d'Excellence, Fondation LVMH, Paris, France
  • 1994 Corresponding Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • 1980 Junior Prize of the Theodor Körner Foundation, Vienna, Austria
  • 1979 Prize for Junior Scientists, Kardinal Innitzer Foundation, Vienna, Austria
  • 1975 Prize of the City of Vienna for the Encouragement of Young Scientists




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org