Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Christian Griesinger

Year of election: 2008
Section: Chemistry
City: Göttingen
Country: Germany
CV Christian Griesinger - deutsch (pdf)


Development of methods in and software for multidimensional NMR spectroscopy; synthesis, elucidation of structure and dynamics of biologically active compounds (Peptides, proteins, DANN, RNA, oligosaccharides, small molecules) and complexes thereof with NMR spectroscopy preferably in physiological environment.

Functional investigation of enzymes and proteins involved in signal or material transduction preferably through membranes as well as of proteins involved in neurodegenerative diseases. Development of neuroprotective substances.


  • seit 2001 Honorarprofessor für Physikalische Chemie an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
  • seit 1999 Direktor und Abteilungsleiter „NMR-basierte Strukturbiologie“ am Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen
  • 1990-2000 C4-Professor für Organische Chemie, Universität Frankfurt         
  • 1986-1989 Postdoc an der ETH Zürich, Schweiz
  • 1986 Promotion in Chemie
  • 1979-1984 Studium der Chemie und Physik an der Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe-Universität Frankfurt


  • seit 2004 Assoziierter Redakteur der FEBS Letters
  • 2000 Chairman des Executive Committee der ENCs
  • 1997-2001 Mitglied des Executive Committee der ENCs
  • seit 1997 Assoziierter Redakteur des Journal of Magnetic Resonance
  • 1997-2000 Vorsitzender der GDCH-Fachgruppe „Magnetische Resonanz“
  • 1994-1996 Mitglied des Vorstands der GDCH-Fachgruppe „Magnetische Resonanz“


  • 2008-2013 ERC Advanced Grant der Europäischen Kommission für das Projekt „hiddentimeNMR“
  • DFG-GRK 782 "Entwicklung und Anwendung von NMR-Methoden zur Untersuchung von Wechselwirkungen und Aggregationen von Proteinen und Peptiden"
  • DFG-Projekt “Structure and function of the membraneous fumarate sensor DcuS of Escherichia coli”
  • DFG-SFB 416 „NMR Spektroskopie an komplexen Naturstoffen“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • seit 2008 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • seit 2008 ERC Advanced Grant für das Projekt „hidden time NMR“
  • 2003 Otto Bayer-Preis    
  • 1998 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der DFG
  • 1997 Arnold Sommerfeld-Preis der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 1996 Buchpreis des Fonds der chemischen Industrie
  • 1989 Dozentenstipendium des Fonds der Chemischen Industrie
  • 1987 Preis der Freunde und Förderer der Universität Frankfurt für die beste naturwissenschaftliche Dissertation
  • 1987 Studienabschlussstipendium des Fonds der Chemischen Industrie
  • 1984-1986 Stipendiat des Fonds der chemischen Industrie
  • 1978-1984 Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org