Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Dierk Raabe

Year of election: 2013
Section: Engineering Sciences
City: Düsseldorf
Country: Germany
CV Dierk Raabe - Deutsch (pdf)


Dierk Raabe holds Dr.-Ing. and Habilitation degrees in physical metallurgy and metal physics from RWTH Aachen. After working at Carnegie Mellon University 1997-1999 he came in 1999 to the Max-Planck Institut für Eisenforschung in Düsseldorf where he is Chief Executive. He is Professor (APL) at RWTH Aachen and Carnegie Mellon University (Adjunct). Raabe works on the simulation and mechanical properties of metallic alloys.

He wrote and edited several books on this topic, e.g. ‘Computational Materials Science’ (1998), Continuum Scale Simulation of Engineering Materials’ (2005), and ‘Crystal Plasticity FEM in Materials Science and Engineering’ (2010) as well as more than 350 peer reviewed publications. Raabe’s work places emphasis on the comparison of simulations with novel experimental results conducted under complex boundary conditions.

Currently, Raabe aims at the integration of quantum mechanical simulations into engineering materials design and property predictions. The blend of theory, characterization, and processing is important in Raabe’s work. He is a frequent plenary and keynote speaker. In 2004 he received the Leibniz-Award. 2008 Raabe was awarded Lee Hsun Lecture Award of the Institute of Metal Research of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and in 2011 the Weinberg Lecture Award of the University of British Columbia. In 2012 he received an ERC advanced grant. Raabe mentored more than 40 Ph.D.s. Since 2010 he is a member of the Science Advisory Board of the German Government (Wissenschaftsrat). Since 2012 he is chairman of the Governors Board of RWTH Aachen University.


  • seit 2010 Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Eisenforschung, Düsseldorf
  • seit 2001 Geschäftsführer am Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung, Düsseldorf
  • seit 2001 Professor an der RWTH Aachen im Fachbereich Metallurgie und Werkstofftechnik
  • seit 1999 Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung und wissenschaftliches Mitglied der Max–Planck–Gesellschaft
  • seit 1997 Visiting Scientist am Department for Materials Science and Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, und am US National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, Tallahassee, USA
  • 1997 Habilitation an der RWTH Aachen, Lehrgebiete Metallkunde und Metallphysik
  • 1992-1997 Wissenschaftlicher Angestellter und Gruppenleiter für Computersimulation und Verbundstoffe am Institut für Metallkunde und Metallphysik, RWTH Aachen
  • 1992 Promotion am Institut für Metallkunde und Metallphysik, RWTH Aachen
  • 1990-1992 Wissenschaftlicher Angestellter am Institut für Metallkunde und Metallphysik, RWTH Aachen
  • 1985-1990 Studium der Metallkunde und Metallphysik, RWTH Aachen
  • 1983-1984 Studium der Orchestermusik, Staatliche Hochschule für Musik Rheinland, Wuppertal


  • seit 2012 Mitglied und Vorsitzender des Hochschulrates der RWTH Aachen
  • seit 2010 Mitglied des Wissenschaftsrates
  • seit 2007 Mitglied des Auswahlausschusses für Forschungsstipendien der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
  • 2007-2014 Mitglied des Direktoriums von Acta Materialia Inc.

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2014 Ehrenprofessur an der Katholischen Universität Leuven, Belgien
  • seit 2013 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2012 Advanced Grant der Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC)
  • 2011 Weinberg Lecture Award, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Kanada
  • 2011 Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Materialkunde
  • seit 2008 Mitglied der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste
  • 2008 Lee Hsun Lecture Award der Chinesischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2004 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.