Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Dieter Birnbacher

Year of election: 2004
Section: Epistemology
City: Düsseldorf
Country: Germany
CV Dieter Birnbacher - PDF (Deutsch)


Prof. Dr. Dieter Birnbacher has been working for more than 30 years as a philosopher and ethicists on issues related to the practical applications of science in such areas as medicine, environmental policy and nature conservation. From 1974 to 1985 he was a member of the study group Umwelt, Gesellschaft, Energie headed by Prof. Dr. Klaus M. Meyer-Abich at Essen University. Until 2012, he has been professor of philosophy at the Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf. He is a member of several permanent commissions of the German Medical Association and vice-president of the Schopenhauer-Gesellschaft, Frankfurt/Main.


  • 1996-2012 Professor für Philosophie an der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
  • 1993-1996 Professor für Philosophie an der Universität Dortmund
  • 1988 Habilitation an der Universität Essen
  • 1973 Promotion an der Universität Hamburg
  • 1969-1973 Studium  an der Universität Hamburg
  • 1966-1969 Studium  an der Universität Cambridge, UK


  • 2004-2006 Mitglied der Zentralen Ethikkommission der Bundesärztekammer
  • 1995-2009 Mitglied der Zentralen Kommission Somatische Gentherapie der Bundesärztekammer
  • 1994-2006 Mitglied der Ständigen Kommission Organtrans¬plan¬tation der Bundesärztekammer
  • 1992-2000 Mitglied des Stiftungsrats der Deutschen Stiftung Organtransplantation
  • 1984-1986 Vizepräsident der Schopenhauer-Gesellschaft e. V., Frankfurt am Main


  • 2009-2011 Projektleiter innerhalb der DFG-Forschergruppe "Erklärungen, Kausalität, Gesetze und Dispositionen am Schnittpunkt von Wissenschaften und Metaphysik" (FOR 1063)

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2012 Dr. h.c. der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster
  • 2011 Ehrenmedaille der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
  • 2008 Reinhard- und Emmy-Heinen-Preis der Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org