Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Ignacio Cirac

Year of election: 2017
Section: Physics
City: Garching
Country: Germany
CV Ignacio Cirac - Deutsch (PDF)


Ignacio Cirac's most important research work is in the field of quantum physics. He made major contributions in quantum information theory, quantum optics, and many-body physics.

He is best known for his pioneering work in quantum computing, where he and his collaborators proposed the first realistic model for a quantum computer based on trapped ions, as well as a for a quantum simulator based on atoms in optical lattices. He developed other concepts, like quantum repeaters, computation by dissipation, quantum networks, and quantum gates based on collisions or Rydberg blockade. He has also pioneered the field of tensor networks, which has found applications in the description of many-body quantum systems.

Image: © Thorsten Naeser


  • seit 2016 Sprecher, International Max-Planck Research School Quantum Science and Technology, Garching
  • 2014-2015 Managing Director, Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching
  • 2005-2007 Managing Director, Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching
  • seit 2002 Honorarprofessor, Department Physik, Technische Universität München
  • seit 2001 Direktor, Abteilung Theorie, Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching
  • 1996-2001 Professor, Institut für Theoretische Physik, Leopold-Franzens-Universität Innsbruck (Österreich)
  • 1993-1994 Research Associate, Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics, University of Colorado (USA)
  • 1991-1996 Profesor Titular de Universidad, Departamento de Física Aplicada, Universidad de Castilla - La Mancha (Spanien)
  • 1991 Ph.D. Physik, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spanien)
  • 1989-1991 Fellow, „Formación del Personal Investigador”, Departamento de Óptica, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spanien)
  • 1988 Studiumabschluss, Theoretische Physik, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spanien)


  • seit 2016 Mitglied, Advisory Board, Fundació LA CAIXA
  • seit 2015 Mitglied, Advisory Board of the Institute for Interdisciplinary Information Sciences, Tsinghua University, Peking (China)
  • seit 2012 Mitglied, Advisory Board, Russian Quantum Center, Moskau (Russland)
  • seit 2012 Mitglied, Advisory Board, „Annalen der Physik“
  • seit 2011 Mitglied, Review Panel, QSIT, Schweizerischer Nationalfonds
  • seit 2010 Mitglied, Scientific Committee, Fundación BBVA (Spanien)
  • seit 2008 Mitglied, Advisory Board, Centro de Ciencias de Benasque, Benasque (Spanien)
  • 2007-2009 Mitglied, xQIT Visiting Committee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge (USA)
  • 2007-2008 Mitglied, CIAR Review Panel, Toronto (Kanada)
  • seit 2007 Mitglied, Scientific Advisory Board, Centre of Quantum Technology, National University of Singapor (Singapur)
  • 2007-2010 Mitglied, Advisory Board, Institute for Theoretical Atomic Molecular and Optical Physic (ITAMP), Harvard University (USA)
  • 2005-2011 Mitherausgeber, „Review of Modern Physics“
  • 2005-2008 Mitglied, International Advisory Board, Quantum Information Processing Interdisciplinary Research Collaboration (QIP IRC), Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (UK)
  • 2005-2008 Mitglied, Kuratorium Institut für Quantenoptik und Quanteninformation (IQOQI), Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Innsbruck (Österreich)
  • 2002-2005 Associate Editor, „Revista Española de Física”
  • seit 2001 Founding Managing Editor, „Quantum Information and Computation”
  • 2000-2003 Mitherausgeber, „Physical Review A“


  • 2007-2015 Teilprojektleiter, Sonderforschungsbereich, „Kernspins in Quanten-Punkten“, DFG
  • 2006-2013 Antragsteller, Forschergruppe, „Quantum Simulations with Quantum Optical Systems“, DFG
  • 2003-2011 Teilprojektleiter, Sonderforschungsbereich, „Theorie der Vielteilchenverschränkung und ihre Anwendung in Festkörpersystemen“, DFG
  • 2003-2005 Antragsteller, Schwerpunktprogramm, Teilprojekt „Theoretical and experimental research onthe transmission of information through quantum channels operations”, DFG

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2019 Micius Quantum-Preis, gemeinsam mit Peter Zoller
  • 2017 Max-Planck-Medaille, Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG)
  • 2017 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2017 Gran Gresol Prize, Gresol Foundation
  • 2016 Vollmitglied, Royal Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences (RAC), Madrid (Spanien)
  • 2016 Ehrendoktor, Universidad Europea, Madrid (Spanien)
  • 2016 Profesor Distinguido, Institute of Mathematical Sciences (ICMAT), Madrid (Spanien)
  • 2015 Medal of Honor, Foundation García Cabrerizo
  • 2015 Hamburger Preis für Theoretische Physik, Joachim Herz-Stiftung
  • 2015 Ehrendoktor, Universitat Politècnica de València, Valencia (Spanien)
  • 2015 Korrespondierendes Mitglied, Real Academia de Ciencias de Zaragoza, Saragossa (Spanien)
  • 2015 Ehrendoktor, Universitat de València (Spanien)
  • 2015 Distinguished Visiting Professor, Institute for Theoretical Physics, CSIC, Madrid (Spanien)
  • 2014 Ehrenmitglied, Spanish Optical Society (SEDOPTICA), Madrid (Spanien)
  • 2014 Ehrendoktor, Universidad de Zaragoza, Saragossa (Spanien)
  • 2014 Visiting Miller Professorship Award, University of California, Berkeley (USA)
  • 2013 Korrespondierendes Mitglied, Academia de Ciencias y Artes, Barcelona (Spanien)
  • 2013 Wolf-Preis, Wolf Foundation
  • 2013 Ehrenmedaille, Niels-Bohr-Institut
  • 2013 David Ben Gurion Medal, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Beersheba (Israel)
  • 2011 Gran Cruz de la Orden del Dos de Mayo de la Comunidad de Madrid (Spanien)
  • 2010 Premi Nacional de Pensament i Cultura Científica
  • 2010 Benjamin-Franklin-Medaille für Physik, Franklin-Institute
  • 2009 Ehrenmedaille, Universidad Complutense de Madrid
  • 2009 Distinguished Research Chair, Perimeter Institute, Waterloo (Kanada)
  • 2009 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award 3
  • 2009 Carl Zeiss-Forschungspreis, Carl Zeiss
  • 2007 Académico de Honor, Academia de Ciencias de la Región de Murcia (Spanien)
  • 2007 National „Blas Cabrera” Prize for Physical, Material and Earth Sciences
  • 2007 Ehrendoktor, Universidad Politecnica de Catalunya, Barcelona (Spanien)
  • 2006 6th International Quantum Communication Award, Tamagawa Universität Tokio (Japan)
  • 2006 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, The Princess of Asturias Foundation
  • 2005 Ehrendoktor, Universidad Castilla - La Mancha (Spanien)
  • 2005 Quantum Electronics Prize, European Physical Society
  • 2003 Korrespondierendes Mitglied, Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Wien (Österreich)
  • 2002 Korrespondierendes Mitglied, Real Academia de Ciencias, Madrid (Spanien)
  • 2002 Medaille, Royal Physical Society of Spain
  • 2002 Fellow, American Physical Society, College Park (USA)
  • 2001 Felix Kuschenitz-Preis, Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 1992 Premio Nacional a Investigadores Noveles, Royal Physical Society of Spain




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org