Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Jules A. Hoffmann

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011

Year of election: 1988
Section: Genetics/Molecular Biology and Cell Biology
City: Strasbourg
Country: France
Member in Focus, 3. October 2011
CV Jules Hoffmann - Deutsch (pdf)


Main research interests: Endocrinology and immunology of insects; Metabolism of ecdysone

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011 together with Bruce Beutler and Ralph M. Steinman for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity.


  • 1994-2005 Director, Institute for molecular and cellular biology, CNRS, Strasbourg
  • 1978-1993 Head of research group „Immune response and Development in insects“, CNRS
  • 1974-1978 Research dircktor, CNRS
  • 1964-1973 Research assistant, CNRS

Awards and Memberships

  • 2014 Honorary Medal of the German Signal Transduction Society
  • 2011 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine
  • 2011 Canada Gairdner International Award
  • 2011 Shaw Prize
  • 2011 Médaille d’or du CNRS
  • 2010 Rosenstiel Award
  • 2010 Keio Medical Science Prize
  • 2007 Balzan Prize
  • 2006 Member, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • 2004 Robert Koch Prize
  • 2003 Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2003 William B. Coley Award
  • 1992 Member, Académie des sciences
  • 1988 Member, Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina
  • 1983 Gay-Lussac-Humboldt Prize

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2014 Ehrenmedaille der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Signaltransduktion
  • seit 2012 Mitglied der Académie française
  • 2011 Nobelpreis für Physiologie oder Medizin, gemeinsam mit Bruce Beutler und Ralph M. Steinman
  • 2011 International Gairdner Prize for Life Sciences, Gairdner Foundation, Kanada
  • 2011 Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine
  • 2011 Médaille d’or du Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) Paris, Frankreich
  • 2010 Rosenstiel Award der Brandeis University, USA
  • 2010 Keyo Prize for Medicine, Keyo Universität Tokio, Japan
  • 2008 Assoziiertes ausländisches Mitglied der US National Academy of Sciences
  • 2007 Balzan-Preis, Balzan-Stiftung, Mailand, Italien
  • 2006 Ausländisches Mitglied der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2004 Grand Prix de la Fondation pour la Recherche médicale
  • 2004 Robert Koch-Preis, Robert Koch-Stiftung, Berlin
  • 2003 Ausländisches Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences, USA
  • 2003 William B. Coley Award, Cancer Research Institute, New York, USA
  • seit 1995 Mitglied der European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO)
  • seit 1993 Mitglied der Academia Europaea
  • 1992 Prix Joannides de l'Académie des sciences
  • seit 1992 Mitglied der Académie des sciences
  • seit 1988 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 1983 Gay-Lussac-Humboldt-Preis
  • 1965 Mitglied des Institut Grand-Ducal des Sciences du Luxembourg
  • Officier de la Légion d'Honneur, Französischer Verdienstorden der Ehrenlegion




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org