Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus

Year of election: 2008
Section: Chemistry
City: Bielefeld
Country: Germany
CV Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus - Deutsch (pdf)
CV Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus - English (pdf)


Major Scientific Interests: Combustion diagnostics, in-situ analysis of reactive systems

Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus is internationally known for her contributions to combustion diagnostics using laser spectroscopy and mass spectrometry. Besides combustion chemistry, her research is devoted to the deposition of functional materials from the gas phase and the in-situ analysis of reactive systems.

Seminal contributions include the quantitative detection of reactive intermediates in combustion, the development of models for energy transfer in small radicals and the investigation of the formation mechanisms of pollutants in the combustion of conventional and bio-derived fuels.

Furthermore, she is a pioneer of science outreach activities in Germany and founded one of the first science laboratories for schools.


  • since 1994 Professor for Physical Chemistry at University of Bielefeld, Germany
  • 1992 Habilitation, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • 1979-1994 Permanent Scientific Staff member, Group Leader since 1988, at the German Aerospace Center DLR, Stuttgart, Germany
  • 1978 Doctorate at University of Bochum, Germany
  • 1970-1975 Education in Chemistry (Diploma) at University of Bochum, Germany


  • 2012-2016 President of The Combustion Institute (International umbrella organization of national combustion societies)
  • 2012 Member of the German Council of Science and Humanities
  • 2008-2013 Member of the Senate of the Hermann von Helmholtz Association of German Research Centres
  • 2007-2013 Member of the International Advisory Board of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany
  • 2007-2013 Member of the Senate and Joint Committee of the German Research Foundation
  • 2007-2008 President of the German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry, 2009-2010: Vice President
  • 2004-2012 Member of the Selection Committee of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Deputy Chair since 2009, Germany
  • 2004-2010 Editor in Chief for "Combustion and Flame"
  • 2002-2014 Member of the Board of Directors of The Combustion Institute
  • 2002-2012 Member of the Board of Trustees of the Volkswagen Foundation


  • seit 2010 Stellvertretende Sprecherin des SFB 686 „Modellbasierte Regelung der homogenisierten Niedertemperatur-Verbrennung“
  • 2006-2014 Teilprojektleitung im SFB 686
  • 2006-2012 Teilprojektleitung im PAK 116 „Chemilumineszenz und Wärmefreisetzung“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2018 Alfred C. Egerton‐Goldmedaille des Combustion Institute
  • seit 2017 Mitglied der European Academy of Sciences
  • seit 2017 Ehrensenatorin der Universität Bielefeld
  • seit 2017 Mitglied der Nordrhein-Westfälischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Künste
  • 2016 Auszeichnung für Internationale Wissenschafts- und Technologie-Kooperation der Volkrepublik China
  • 2016 National Friendship Award der Volksrepublik China
  • 2016 Award for International Scientific Cooperation of the Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • seit 2016 Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen
  • seit 2015 Mitglied von acatech - Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften
  • 2012 Advisory Professorship an der Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • 2012 Wilhelm-Jost-Gedächtnisvorlesung der Akademie zu Göttingen und der Deutschen Bunsen-Gesellschaft für Physikalische Chemie
  • 2011 „Distinguished Woman in Chemistry / Chemical Engineering”, 2011 year of chemistry celebration, verliehen durch International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
  • 2008 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2008 Verleihung einer Ehren-Gastprofessur der University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei
  • 2007 Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande, verliehen durch den Bundespräsidenten Horst Köhler
  • 2006 Fellow der International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
  • 2002 PUSH-Preise des Stifterverbands für die Deutsche Wissenschaft
  • 2000 PUSH-Preise des Stifterverbands für die Deutsche Wissenschaft
  • 1993 Baetjer Lectures, School of Applied and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University, USA




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org