Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Matthias Mann

Year of election: 2013
Section: Biochemistry and Biophysics
City: Martinsried
Country: Germany
CV Matthias Mann - Deutsch (pdf)


Matthias Mann is known for his important contributions to the field of proteomics. The physicist and mathematician has had a decisive influence on large-scale proteomics and therefore on our ability to detect the proteins associated with biological systems. His greatest achievement is considered to be the development of mass spectrometric procedures, which originated in the field of physics, in the field of molecular biology. Beyond the technical advancement of these methods, Mann and his colleagues have developed bioinformatics tools that can analyse and interpret the huge amounts of data resulting from mass spectrometric measurements. His method can also be applied to medical purposes - for example to compare the proteome of healthy cells with tumour cells.

His department "Proteomics and signal transduction" at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry develops and applies powerful tools of 'proteomics' with the overall aim of the analysis of the entire protein complement in protein complexes, cells, tissues and organisms.


  • seit 2009 Direktor der Proteomics-Abteilung, Zentrum für Proteinforschung der Novo-Nordisk-Foundation an der Universität Kopenhagen, Dänemark
  • seit 2005 Direktor am Max-Planck Institut für Biochemie, Leiter der Abteilung „Proteomics und Signaltransduktion“, Martinsried, und Honorarprofessor an der Fakultät für Chemie und Pharmazie der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 1998-2007 Professor für Bioinformatik, Institut für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie, Süddänische Universität (SDU), und Direktor des Zentrums für Experimentelle Bioinformatik (CEBI), Dänemark
  • 1992-1998 Abteilungsleiter der Protein- und Peptidgruppe, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg
  • 1989-1992 Postdoc und später Senior Scientist am Institut für Molekularbiologie, Süddänische Universität (SDU), Dänemark
  • 1988 Promotion in Chemical Engineering, Yale University, USA
  • 1984 Diplom in Physik, Georg August-Universität Göttingen
  • Studium der Physik und Mathematik an der Georg August-Universität Göttingen und an der Yale University, USA


  • 2009-2013 Beteiligt am Internationalen Graduiertenkolleg GRK 1563 „Regulation und Evolution zellulärer Systeme“
  • seit 2006 Beteiligt am DFG-Exzellenzcluster EXC 114 „Zentrum für Integrierte Proteinforschung (CIPSM)“



  • Mitglied in den Editorial Boards von Journal of Proteome Research, Molecular and Cellular, Proteomics, Cell, Carcinogenesis


Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2015 The Order of Dannebrog Knights Cross
  • 2015 Barry L. Karger-Medaille in Bioanalytischer Chemie
  • 2015 Theodor Bücher Lecture und Medaille
  • seit 2013 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2012 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • 2012 Ernst Schering-Preis
  • 2012 Louis Jeantet-Preis für Medizin
  • 2012 Körber European Science Award
  • 2011 Feodor Lynen Lecture Medal
  • 2010 Friedrich Wilhelm Joseph von Schelling-Preis der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2009 Ehrendoktorwürde der University of Dundee, Schottland, UK
  • 2008 HUPO Distinguished Achievement Award in Proteomic Sciences (gemeinsam mit Denis Hochstrasser)
  • 2006 Biochemische Analytik-Preis, Deutsche vereinte Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin
  • 2005 Anfinsen-Preis der amerikanischen Protein-Gesellschaft
  • 2004 Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Utrecht, Niederlande
  • 2004 Lundbeck-Preis
  • 2004 Novo-Nordisk-Preis (gemeinsam mit Peter Roepstorff)
  • 2001 Bernhard und Martha Rasmussen’s Memorial Prize für Krebsforschung
  • 2001 Meyenburg-Krebsforschungspreis
  • 2001 Fresenius-Preis und Medaille für Analytische Chemie der Gesellschaft deutscher Chemiker
  • 1999 Gastprofessor an der Harvard Medical School
  • seit 1999 Mitglied der European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
  • 1999 Bieman-Medaille für “Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry”, American Society for Mass Spectrometry
  • 1998 Edman-Preis der Methods in Protein Structure Analysis-Gesellschaft
  • 1997 Hewlett-Packard-Preis
  • 1996 Mattauch-Herzog-Preis in Massenspektronomie
  • 1991 Malcom Award, Journal Organic Mass Spectrometry





Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org