Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Peter Zoller

Year of election: 2010
Section: Physics
City: Innsbruck
Country: Austria
CV Peter Zoller - Deutsch (PDF)


As a theoretician, Peter Zoller has written major works on the interaction of laser light and atoms. In addition to fundamental developments in quantum optics he has succeeded in bridging quantum information and solid-state physics. The model of a quantum computer, suggested by him and Ignacio Cirac in 1995, is based on the interaction of lasers with cold ions confined in an electromagnetic trap. The principles of this idea have been implemented in experiments over recent years and it is considered one of the most promising concepts for the development of a scalable quantum computer.

Zoller and his researcher colleagues have also managed to link quantum physics with solid-state physics. One of his suggestions has been to build a quantum simulator with cold atoms. Peter Zoller is Professor at the Institute for Theoretical Physics at the University of Innsbruck and Scientific Director at the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (IQOQI) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences.


  • seit 2003 Wissenschaftlicher Direktor am Institut für Quantenoptik und Quanteninformation, Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • seit 1994 Professor für Physik, Institut für Theoretische Physik, Universität Innsbruck, Österreich
  • 1991-1994 Professor für Physik, Joint Institute for Laboratory Astrophysics, Universität Colorado, USA
  • 1981 Habilitation, Universität Innsbruck, Österreich
  • 1977-1990 Assistenzprofessor, Universität Innsbruck, Österreich
  • 1978-1979 Max Kade Fellow, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, USA
  • 1977 Promotion, Universität Innsbruck, Österreich


  • seit 2009 Beirat des Physics Frontier Center, Joint Quantum Institute, Maryland, USA
  • seit 2009 Beirat des Physics Frontier Center, JILA, Universität Colorado, USA
  • 2009-2012 Beirat des Centre for Quantum Engineering and Space-Time Research, Hannover
  • seit 2005 Beirat des Arnold Sommerfeld Center for Theoretical Physics, Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 2001-2011 Beirat des Max-Planck-Instituts für Quantenoptik, Garching
  • 1999-2008 Sprecher des Sonderforschungsbereichs „Quantum Control and Measurement“   


  • 2011-2014 FWF-Projekt (Fond zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung) „Perspektiven der Quanteninformationsverarbeitung mit Rydbergionen“
  • 1999-2008 FWF-Projekt „Kontrolle und Messung von Quantensystemen“
  • 1998-2005 FWF-Projekt „Theoretische Quantenoptik und Quanteninformation“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2019 Ehrendoktorwürde, University of Colorado Boulder
  • 2019 Micius Quantum-Preis, gemeinsam mit Juan Ignacio Cirac
  • 2019 John Stewart Bell Prize
  • 2018 Norman F. Ramsey Prize
  • 2018 Willis-E.-Lamb-Preis
  • 2016 KITP Simons Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA
  • 2016 Herbert-Walther-Preis, Optical Society of America und der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft
  • 2015 Jacques-Solvay-Professor für Physik, International Solvay Institutes, Brüssel, Belgien
  • seit 2014 Auswärtiges Mitglied des Max-Planck-Instituts für Quantenoptik, Garching
  • seit 2013 Mitglied der Academia Europea
  • 2013 Distinguished Fellow am Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching
  • 2013 Wolf-Preis in Physik
  • 2012 Distinguished Fellow am Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching
  • 2012 Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Amsterdam
  • 2011 Hamburger Preis für Theoretische Physik
  • seit 2011 Mitglied der Europäischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und Künste
  • 2010 Arnold-Sommerfeld Lecturer an der Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München
  • 2010 Moore Distinguished Scholar am California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
  • 2010 Blaise-Pascal-Medaille der Europäische Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2010 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Physik
  • seit 2010 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2009 Wissenschaftspreis der Stiftung Südtiroler Sparkasse
  • seit 2009 Auswärtiges assoziiertes Mitglied der US National Academy of Sciences
  • seit 2008 Auswärtiges assoziiertes Mitglied der Königlich Spanischen Akademie
  • seit 2008 Auswärtiges Mitglied der Königlich-Niederländischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2008 Moore Distinguished Scholar am California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
  • 2008 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences
  • 2007 Distinguished Lecturer am Technion, Haifa, Israel
  • 2006 Gastprofessor am Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris, Frankreich
  • 2006 Dirac-Medaille
  • 2006 6th International Quantum Communication Award
  • 2005 Lorentz-Professor, Leiden, Niederlande
  • 2005 Niels Bohr/UNESCO Gold Medal
  • 2005 Max-Planck-Medaille
  • 2004 Loeb Lecturer Harvard, Boston, USA
  • 2004 Yan Jici Chair-Professor, University of Science and Technology of China, Heifei; Chair-Professor an der Tsinghua Universität, Peking, China
  • 2002 Tiroler Landespreis für Wissenschaft
  • 2001 Kardinal-Innitzer-Preis
  • seit 2001 Mitglied der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2000 Senior Humboldt Award
  • 1998 Schrödinger-Preis
  • 1998 Max-Born-Preis
  • 1998 Wittgenstein-Preis
  • 1993 Fellow der American Physical Society
  • 1988 JILA Visiting Fellow, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA
  • 1986 Gastprofessor an der Universität Paris-Süd, Orsay, Frankreich
  • 1983 Ludwig-Boltzmann-Preis
  • 1981-1982 JILA Visiting Fellow an der University of Colorado, Boulder, USA
  • 1981 Preis der Landeshauptstadt Innsbruck für wissenschaftliche Forschung




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.