Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Regine Kahmann

Year of election: 2008
Section: Genetics/Molecular Biology and Cell Biology
City: Marburg
Country: Germany
CV Regine Kahmann - Deutsch (pdf)


Regine Kahmann is distinguished for a number of important contributions to site-specific recombination, gene regulation in prokaryotes and molecular phytopathology. These studies were conducted while she was an independent junior group leader at the Max Planck Institute for Genetics in Berlin and at the Institute for Genebiological Research in Berlin, professor at the Institute for Genetics and Microbiology in Munich and director at the MPI for Terrestrial Microbiology in Marburg.

Her major contributions to site specific recombination were the discovery of FIS protein and the demonstration that this accessory protein stimulates site-specific recombination by binding to an enhancer sequence. Nowadays she is best known for her seminal work on the plant pathogenic fungus Ustilago maydis. She identified the molecular components of the tetrapolar mating type system and elucidated their function. She also played the key role in identifying novel secreted effectors in this fungus which have crucial functions in the compatible interaction with host plants. She continues to study these effectors with the aim to unravel where and how they affect host plant functions.


  • seit 2000 Direktorin am Max Planck-Institut für terrestrische Mikrobiologie und Professorin für Genetik an der Philipps-Universität Marburg
  • 2000 Übernahme der Leitung der Abteilung Organismische Interaktionen am Max-Planck-Institut für terrestrische Mikrobiologie in Marburg
  • 1992-2001 C4-Professur für Genetik an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 1987-1992 Leitung einer selbstständigen Arbeitsgruppe am Institut für Genbiologische Forschung Berlin GmbH
  • 1982-1986 Leitung einer selbstständigen Arbeitsgruppe am Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Genetik in Berlin
  • 1980-1982 Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in München
  • 1974-1980 erst Postdoktorandin, dann Junior Group Leader am Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, USA
  • 1974 Promotion an der Freien Universität Berlin
  • 1972 Diplom in Biologie
  • 1967-1972 Studium der Biologie an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Schwerpunkt Mikrobiologie


  • seit 2014 Mitglied des EMBO Councils
  • seit 2013 Mitglied im Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Ausschuss der DFG
  • seit 2012 Mitglied im IS-MPMI Board
  • seit 2010 Mitglied im Stiftungsrat caesar
  • seit 2010 Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Komitees der Leopoldina “Life Sciences”
  • Seit 2009 Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Fachbeirats der Göttinger Graduiertenschule für Neurowissenschaften und molekulare Biowissenschaften
  • Seit 2009 Mitglied des Senats der MPG
  • Seit 2003 Mitglied des Beirats im Otto-Warburg-Minerva-Center for Agricultural Biotechnology (Rehovot)
  • Mitglied des Editorial Boards der Fachzeitschriften Current Opinion in Microbiology, The Plant Cell, mBio.


  • seit 2012 DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich 987 „Mikrobielle Diversität in der umweltabhängigen Signalantwort”, Teilprojekt C2: “Sensing of the leaf surface by the biotrophic fungus Ustilago maydis”
  • seit 2009 LOEWE-Zentrum für Synthetische Mikrobiologie “Genomische Anpassungen eines Pathogens an seinen Wirt“
  • seit 2007 DFG-Sonderforschungsbereich 593 „Mechanisms of cellular compartmentalisation and the relevance for disease“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2013 Ehrenmitglied der Deutschen Botanischen Gesellschaft e.V. (DBG)
  • 2012 Mitglied der American Academy of Microbiology
  • 2011 Mendel-Medaille der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2011 TUM Distinguished Affiliated Professor (Ehrenprofessorin) der Technischen Universität München
  • 2008 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2002 Mitglied des Beirats „Otto Warburg Minerva Center for Agricultural Biotechnology“ der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem
  • 2001 Ehrendoktorwürde der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem
  • 2001 Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 1999 Bayerischer Maximiliansorden für Wissenschaft und Kunst
  • 1998 Mitglied der Academia Europaea
  • 1998 Verdienstkreuz am Bande der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
  • 1997 Dannie-Heineman-Preis der Göttinger Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 1997 Lehrpreis der Fakultät für Biologie, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 1995 Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 1993 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft DFG
  • 1991 Mitglied der European Molecular Biology Organisation EMBO




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org