Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. PhD

Sir J. Fraser Stoddart

Nobel prize in Chemistry 2016

Year of election: 1999
Section: Chemistry
City: Evanston
Country: USA
CV J. Fraser Stoddart - Deutsch (pdf)


Fraser Stoddart is distinguished for many contributions to chemistry and molecular nanotechnology. The majority of these were made at Sheffield and Birmingham Universities and at the University of California, Los Angeles, where he held the Kavli Chair in NanoSystems Sciences and was a founding director of the California NanoSystems Institute prior to his move to Northwestern.

Over the past four decades he pioneered the use of molecular recognition and self-assembly processes in template-directed protocols for the synthesis of two-state mechanically interlocked compounds that have been employed as switchable devices and as motor-molecules in the fabrication of Molecular Electronic Devices, NanoElectromechnical Systems and Mechanized NanoParticles for cancer drug delivery.


  • seit 2014 Professor of Chemistry an der Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA
  • 2003-2007 Direktor des California NanoSystems Institute, USA
  • 2003-2014 Fred Kavli Professor für Nanowissenschaften an der University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • 1997-2003 Saul Winstein Professor für Organische Chemie an der University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • 1990-1997 Professor für Organische Chemie an der University of Birmingham, UK
  • 1981-1990 Reader in Chemie an der University of Sheffield, UK
  • 1980 DSc
  • 1978-1981 Forscher bei  Imperial Chemical Industries in Runcorn
  • 1970-1978 Lecturer in Chemie an der University of Sheffield, UK
  • 1967-1970 Postdoc an der Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Kanada
  • 1966 PhD
  • 1964 Bachelor of Science
  • Studium der Chemie an der University of Edinburgh, UK

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2016 Nobelpreis für Chemie
  • seit 2014 Mitglied der US-National Academy of Sciences
  • 2014 Centenary Prize Winner der Royal Society of Chemistry
  • seit 2012 Fellow der American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2012 Distinguished Citizen Award, Illinois Saint Andrew Society, Chicago, USA
  • 2010 Royal Medal der Royal Society of Edinburgh
  • 2008 Davy Medal der Royal Society
  • 2008 Arthur C. Cope Award
  • 2007 Knight Bachelor
  • 2007 King Faisal International Prize
  • 2007 Jabir ibn Hayyan (Geber) Medal (Saudi Chemical Society)
  • 2007 Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry
  • 2007 Albert Einstein World Award of Science
  • 2007 Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology
  • seit 2006 Auswärtiges Mitglied der Königlich Niederländischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2006 Mack Memorial Award
  • 2006 Fusion Award der University of Nevada
  • 2006 Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Twente
  • 2005 PSME Division Arthur K. Doolittle Award
  • 2005 Alumnus of the Year der University of Edinburgh
  • 2005 Ehrendoktorwürde der University of Birmingham
  • 2005 Ehrenprofessor der East China University of Science and Technology in Shanghai
  • seit 2005 Fellow der American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  • 2004 Nagoya-Goldmedaille in Organischer Chemie
  • 2000 Herbert Newby McCoy Award
  • seit 1999 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 1999 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award
  • 1995 Steinhofer-Preis
  • 1994 Chaire Bruylants Award der Université catholique de Louvain, Belgien
  • seit 1994 Fellow der Royal Society
  • 1993 International Izatt-Christensen Award in Macrocyclic Chemistry
  • 1980, 1981 und 1982 RSC Perkin Division Career Award der Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 1978 Chartered Chemist der Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 1978 Carbohydrate Chemistry Award of The Chemical Society
  • 1964 Hope Prize in Chemistry




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.