Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Steffen Gay

Year of election: 2004
Section: Internal Medicine and Dermatology
City: Zurich
Country: Switzerland
CV Steffen Gay - Englisch (pdf)


Steffen Gay has contributed with over 300 peer-reviewed publications related to the molecular and cellular mechanisms in the pathogenesis of rheumatoid arthritis and progressive systemic sclerosis (scleroderma). After 20 years working at the University of Birmingham Alabama (USA), where he served for over 10 years as Professor of Medicine, he moved to the University Hospital in Zurich in 1996. He directs the Center of Experimental Rheumatology that was recognized by EULAR as ”Center of Excellence”.

Current studies focus on the epigenetically regulated processes operating in rheumatological and cardio-vascular diseases influenced and/or caused by aberrant acetylation, methylation and microRNAs.


  • since 1996 Professor of Experimental Rheumatology and Leading Doctor, Center for Experimental Rheumatology, Clinic of Rheumatology, University Hospital Zurich, Switzerland, recognized as Center of Excellence 2015-2020 by the European League Against Rheumatism
  • since 1996 Adjunct Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • 1984-1996 Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • 1984-1996 Director, WHO Collaborating Center for the Biochemical Classification and Diagnostic Criteria of Rheumatoid Arthritis and Allied Diseases
  • 1984-1991 Senior Scientist, Institute of Dental Research, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • 1983-1991 Director, UAB, School of Dentistry, LM-EM-Histochemistry-Autoradiography Unit, USA
  • 1978-1996 Associate Professor, Department of Dermatology, University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA
  • 1978-1996 Scientist, Comprehensive Cancer Center and Breast Cancer Research Task Force, University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA
  • 1978-1984 Scientist, Institute of Dental Research, University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA
  • 1978-1984 Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Clinical Immunology and Rheumatology, University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA
  • 1977-1978 Visiting Assistant Professor, Dept. of Pathology, University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA
  • 1976-1978 Visiting Investigator, Institute of Dental Research, University of Alabama in Birmingham, USA
  • 1976 Research Specialist, Dept. of Biochemistry, CMDNJ-Rutgers Medical School, Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
  • 1973-1976 Research Fellow, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry, Munich, Germany 1972-1973 Resident, Fachkrankenhaus für Innere Medizin, Leipzig, Germany
  • 1970-1973 Research Graduate Student,Pathological Institute of the University Leipzig, Germany
  • 1972 Promotion at the Universität Leipzig, Germany
  • 1966-1972 Studies at the Universität Leipzig, Germany


  • 2015 Member, Executive Committee of the Biomedical Research Alliance
  • 2015 Member, Scientific Panel for Health (SPH), appointed by the European Commission
  • 2010 President , Novartis Foundation for medical-biological Research, Switzerland
  • 2008-2014 Curatorium, Center of Clinical Research at the University Zurich (ZKF), Switzerland
  • 2008-2011 Chairman, EULAR Standing Committee on Investigative Rheumatology
  • 2002 Chairman, Annual Meeting Planning Committee, EULAR
  • 2001-2005 Annual Meeting Planning Committee, American College of Rheumatology
  • 1993-1999 Chairman, International Advisory Committee, American College of Rheumatology,
  • 1993-1997 Director, International Corporate Relations for The University of Alabama at Birmingham and the UAB Research Foundation, USA
  • 1993 NIH, MAMDC - Study Section
  • 1992 Chair, Abstract Selection Subcommittee "Rheumatoid Arthritis"  
  • 1992 Subchair, NIH Study Section, Specialized Center of Research  (SCOR),
  • 1989-1991 Member, Grants Subcommittee of the Arthritis Foundation's Research Committee
  • 1987-2000 Member, Advisory Committee for the German Rheumatology Research Center, Berlin, Germany
  • 1985-1989 Member, International Affairs Committee, American Rheumatism Association


  • 2012-2016 EC Marie Curie OsteoImmune
  • 2011-2016 EC IMI BTCure
  • 2008-2013 EC FP7 MASTERSWITCH , Executive Committee
  • 2006-2011 EC-FP6 AUTOCURE , Executive Committee

Honours and Memberships

  • 2015 Master of the American College of Rheumatology (ACR)
  • 2011 Honorary Member of The European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR)
  • 2008 Kussmaul Medal
  • 2007 Oscar in Rheumatology, Poland
  • 2005-2015 EULAR Center of Excellence
  • 2004 Member, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2003 Honorary Member, Saxonian Society for Internal Medicine
  • 2003 Honorary Member, Hungarian Society for Rheumatology
  • 2003 Honorary Member, The Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society
  • 2003 Spinoza Professor, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • 2000 Kare Berglund Lecture, University of Lund, Sweden
  • 1999 Honorary Member, American Association of Physicians
  • 1999 Honorary Member, Society for Connective Tissue Research
  • 1992 Visiting Professor, Department of Rheumatology, University Hospital, Leiden, Netherlands
  • 1989 May and Baker Lecture and Visiting Professor at the United Medical and Dental Schools of Guy's and St. Thomas's Hospitals, University of London, UK
  • 1978 Carol-Nachman Prize
  • 1976-1977 Research Fellowship for USA from German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • 1975 Alexander Schmidt Award for Thrombosis Research
  • 1972 Medical exam "Summa cum laude"
  • 1972 ISI Citations over 16'000, h-index 70




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.