Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Ulrike Lohmann

Year of election: 2014
Section: Earth Sciences
City: Zurich
Country: Switzerland
CV Ulrike Lohmann - Deutsch (pdf)


Ulrike Lohmann is distinguished for many important contributions to atmospheric physics. The majority of which have been conducted at the Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science, which she led from 2006 to 2014. She made major contributions to research on cloud microphysics, ice nucleation and impact of aerosol particles and clouds on climate.

She is best known for her pioneering work on the radiative forcing of aerosol particles due to aerosol-cloud and aerosol-radiation interactions since pre-industrial times and therefore was asked to be a lead author in the 4th and 5th Assessments Reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). She studies aerosol particles, cloud droplets and ice crystals in the laboratory, in field experiments and in various numerical models ranging from process models to global climate models. Her approach is unique because she uses theory, modeling and empirical approaches to answer key questions related to aerosol-cloud interactions.


  • 2010 Gastwissenschaftlerin für Atmosphärenwissenschaften am Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg
  • 2006-2014 Leiterin des Instituts für Atmosphäre und Klima, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich, Schweiz
  • seit 2004 Ordentliche Professorin für Atmosphärenphysik, Institut für Atmosphäre und Klima, ETH Zürich
  • 2004 Gastwissenschaftlerin am Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg
  • 2003 Gastprofessorin am Department für Physik, University of Toronto, Kanada
  • 2001-2004 Außerordentliche Professorin für Atmosphärenwissenschaften, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Kanada
  • 2001-2003 Apl. Professorin, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University, New York, USA
  • 2000-2003 Koordinatorin des Programms für Atmosphärenwissenschaften, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Kanada
  • 1997-2001 Assistenzprofessorin für Atmosphärenwissenschaften, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Kanada
  • 1996-1997 Postdoc am Kanadischen Zentrum für Klimamodellierung und -analyse, Victoria, Kanada
  • 1996 Promotion in Meteorologie am Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie und der Universität Hamburg
  • 1988-1993 Studium der Meteorologie an den Universitäten Mainz und Hamburg


  • seit 2015 Mitglied der AGU fellow Selektionskommission (Abteilung Atmosphärenwissenschaften)
  • seit 2013 Koordinatorin des EU PF7 Projektes BACCHUS
  • seit 2013 Mitglied der ETH Forschungskommission
  • seit 2010 Delegierte des Präsidenten der ETH für die Leitung der Berufungskommission
  • seit 2009 Vorsitzende des HAMMOZ-Lenkungsausschusses
  • seit 2009 Mitglied des Lenkungsausschusses des Zentrums für Klimamodelle (C2SM)

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • seit 2014 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2008 Fellow der American Geophysical Union (AGU)
  • 2007 AMS-Henry G. Houghton-Preis
  • 2003 Killam-Preis der Dalhousie University
  • 2002-2004 Canada Research Chair
  • 1998 Petro-Canada Young Innovator Award
  • 1996-1997 Postdoc-Stipendium des Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.