Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Volker Mosbrugger

Year of election: 2004
Section: Earth Sciences
City: Frankfurt (M.)
Country: Germany
CV Volker Mosbrugger - Deutsch (PDF)


Volker Mosbrugger’s main fields of research encompass the evolution and constructional morphology of land plants, the evolution of terrestrial ecosystems, and thus increasingly also terrestrial palaeoclimatology. To better understand the effects of global warming and the consequent loss of biodiversity on the Earth System and on mankind is one of his chief concerns. Awarded an honourary doctorate from the University of Lyon and, in 1999, the Leibniz Prize - the highest honour bestowed in German research - Volker Mosbrugger has served as Director General of the Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung since October 2005. With approximately 700 employees, five institutes and further branches in six federal states, Senckenberg conducts cutting-edge research in natural science in all parts of the world.


  • seit 2005 Professor am Institut für Geowissenschaften der Goethe‐Universität Frankfurt am Main und Generaldirektor der Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung
  • 1990‐2005 Professor am Institut für Geowissenschaften der Universität Tübingen
  • 1990 Wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Institut für Paläontologie der Universität Bonn
  • 1989 Habilitation an der Universität Bonn
  • 1984‐1989 Hochschulassistent am Institut für Paläontologie der Universität Bonn
  • 1983 Promotion in Geologie und Paläontologie an der Universität Freiburg i. Br.
  • 1980 ‐ 1983 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Universität Freiburg i. Br.
  • 1979 Staatsexamen in Biologie und Chemie an der Universität Freiburg i.Br.
  • 1973‐1979 Studium der Biologie, Meeresbiologie und Chemie an der Universität Freiburg i.Br. und in Montpellier, Frankreich


  • seit 2012 Senatsmitglied der Helmholtz‐Gemeinschaft
  • 2010‐2012 Vizepräsident der Leibniz‐Gemeinschaft
  • seit 2009 Direktor der Goethe Graduate Academy GRADE der Goethe‐Universität Frankfurt am Main
  • seit 2006 Ständiges Mitglied der Senatskommission der Helmholtz‐Gemeinschaft für den Forschungsbereich „Erde und Umwelt“
  • seit 2004 Vizepräsident der International Organization of Palaeobotany
  • 2002‐2008 Vorsitzender der DFG‐Senatskommission für Geowissenschaftliche Gemeinschaftsforschung
  • 2001‐2003 Vizepräsident der Gesellschaft für Biologische Systematik
  • 1999‐2005 Vizepräsident der Paläontologischen Gesellschaft
  • seit 1996 Gutachter der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • Mitglied der Wissenschaftlichen Beiräte des Alfred‐Wegener‐Instituts für Polar‐ und Meeresforschung in Bremerhaven, des Geoforschungszentrums Potsdam und der Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe, Hannover


  • seit 2011 Wissenschaftlicher Koordinator des BMBF‐Programms „Zentralasien ‐ Monsundynamik und Geoökosysteme“ – CAME sowie Projektleiter des BMBFVerbundprojekts “Pasture Degradation Monitoring System“ – PaDeMoS
  • seit 2008 Sprecher des Projektes “Role of Culture in Early Expansion of Humans“ – ROCEEH der Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • seit 2008 Wissenschaftlicher Co‐ Koordinator des DFG‐Schwerpunktprogramms 1372 “Tibetan Plateau: Formation ‐ Climate ‐ Ecosystems“ – TiP
  • 2008‐2014 Wissenschaftlicher Koordinator des LOEWE Biodiversitäts und Klimaforschungszentrums – BiK‐F
  • 1994‐2001 Sprecher des DFG‐Sonderforschungsbereichs 275 „Klimagekoppelte Prozesse in meso‐ und känozoischen Geoökosystemen“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2017 Hessischer Kulturpreis
  • 2013 Cretzschmar‐Medaille der Senckenberg Gesellschaft für Naturforschung
  • 2005 Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Lyon, Frankreich
  • seit 2004 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • seit 2003 Mitglied der Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • seit 2003 Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz
  • 2001 Ehrenprofessor der Jilin Universität, Changchun, China
  • 1999 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz‐Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • Mitglied von acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org