Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Volker Springel

Year of election: 2016
Section: Physics
City: Garching
Country: Germany
CV Volker Springel - Deutsch (pdf)


Volker Springel is renowned for his transformative work in computational astrophysics, which he carried out at the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies, at Heidelberg University, and at the Max-Planck Institute for Astrophysics in Garching. He developed the parallel simulation code GADGET, one of the most widely employed computer codes in cosmology worldwide. Using large supercomputers, he carried out the Millennium Simulation, which accurately reproduced the observed large-scale clustering of galaxies and was instrumental in validating the standard cosmological model, where the matter content of the Universe is dominated by cold dark matter and a dark energy field causes an accelerated expansion today.

More recently, Springel introduced an innovative moving-mesh technique for cosmological hydrodynamics and implemented it in the new AREPO code. Using this technique, it has become possible to follow the formation of galaxies with unprecedented accuracy. In his Illustris simulation, he for example predicted for the first time a realistic mix of galaxy morphologies out of the initial conditions left behind by the Big Bang.


  • seit 2018 Wissenschaftliches Mitglied und Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik in Garching
  • seit 2018 Honorarprofessor für Astrophysik an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 2010-2018 Professor, Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie, Universität Heidelberg, und Gruppenleiter Theoretische Astrophysik am Heidelberger Institut für Theoretische Studien (HITS)
  • 2005-2010 Forschungsgruppenleiter (W2, tenured) am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, Garching
  • 2003-2005 Tenure-track-Position in der Kosmologie-Gruppe am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, Garching
  • 2001-2003 Postdoktorand am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, Garching
  • 2000-2001 Unternehmensberater (Projektmanagement in der Konsumgüterindustrie), Basycon Unternehmensberatung, München
  • 1999-2000 Postdoktorand am Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA
  • 1999 Promotion in Astrophysik an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 1996-1999 Doktorand am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, Garching
  • 1996 Diplom in Physik, Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen
  • 1994-1995 Graduate Studies in Physics, University of California, Berkeley, USA
  • 1991-1994 Studium der Physik an der Universität Tübingen


  • seit 2013 Externes wissenschaftliches Mitglied der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft am Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie in Heidelberg
  • seit 2012 Mitglied des Forschungsrats im Field of Focus „Struktur- und Musterbildung in der materiellen Welt“ der Universität Heidelberg
  • seit 2013 Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Gauß-Zentrums für Supercomputing (GCS)
  • seit 2006 Mitglied der Internationalen Astronomischen Union (IAU)


  • seit 2015 DFG-Projekt „Parallele und Vielkern-Supercomputer Infrastruktur“, Teilprojekt zu Sonderforschungsbereich SFB 881 „Das Milchstraßensystem“
  • seit 2013 ERC-Projekt „Hydrodynamische Simulationen der Galaxienentstehung auf Computern der Peta- und Exaflop-Leistungsklasse“
  • seit 2012 DFG-Projekt „EXAMAG - Exascale Simulationen des magnetisierten Universums“, Teilprojekt zu Schwerpunktprogramm SPP 1648 „Software für Exascale Computing“
  • seit 2011 DFG-Projekt „Sternentstehung, Dynamik der interstellaren Materie, und das filamentäre Skelett der Milchstraße“, Teilprojekt zu SFB 881
  • seit 2011 DFG-Projekt „Hoch aufgelöste hydrodynamische Simulationen der Entstehung der Milchstraße im kosmologischen Zusammenhang“, Teilprojekt zu SFB 881
  • seit 2011 DFG-Projekt „Ein theoretisches chemodynamisches Modell der Milchstraßenscheibe“, Teilprojekt zu Sonderforschungsbereich SFB 881
  • seit 2006 DFG-Projekt „Simulation der Galaxienpopulation von Universen mit Dunkler Energie“, Teilprojekt zu Transregioförderung TRR 33 „Das Dunkle Universum“
  • seit 2006 DFG-Projekt „Wechselwirkung Dunkler Energie mit Dunkler Materie“, Teilprojekt zu TRR 33
  • 2006-2007 Beteiligt an der Graduiertenschule GSC 129 „Heidelberg Graduiertenschule für fundamentale Physik“
  • Cluster of Excellence „Origin and Structure of the Universe”
  • NSF grant in the Petascale Computing Initiative
  • European Union ITN Network „CosmoComp”


Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2020 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • seit 2020 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften der USA (NAS)
  • 2018 Preis für Astrophysikalische Software der Astronomischen Gesellschaft (AG)
  • 2016 HLRS Golden Spike Award
  • seit 2016 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2009 Klung-Wilhelmy-Weberbank-Preis für Physik
  • 2007 Selected by the European Commission and the Royal Society for the Member of European Parliament-Scientist pairing scheme
  • 2006-2011 Mitglied der Jungen Akademie der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2006 Gewählt in „Elf der Wissenschaft“, Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft
  • 2005 International Media Award for Science and Art
  • 2004 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • 2000 Otto-Hahn-Medaille, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
  • 1989-1996 Stipendiat der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes
  • 1990 Mitglied der deutschen Mannschaft bei der „XXI. International Physics Olympiad”, Groningen, Niederlande (Silbermedaille)
  • 1990 2. Platz in Physik beim Bundeswettbewerb „Jugend forscht”
  • 1989 Mitglied der deutschen Mannschaft bei der „XX. International Physics Olympiad”, Warschau, Polen (Bronzemedaille)




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.