Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Walter Rosenthal

Year of election: 2011
Section: Human Genetics and Molecular Medicine
City: Jena
Country: Germany
CV Walter Rosenthal - Deutsch (pdf)
CV Walter Rosenthal - English (pdf)


Walter Rosenthal is pharmacologist and toxicologist.

A-kinase anchoring proteins (AKAPs) comprise a family of approximately 50 structural proteins that directly bind to protein kinase A (PKA) as well as further signaling molecules such as other protein kinases, protein phosphatases, phosphodiesterases (PDEs), GTPases, adaptor proteins and substrate proteins of PKA through unique interacting domains. These binding events anchor AKAP interaction partners to cellular compartments, helping to localize multi-protein signaling processes and coordinate their activity in cells. A major focus of our research lab is to clarify the role of various AKAPs and protein-protein interactions in vasopressin-mediated water reabsorption in renal principal cells and the regulation of cardiomyocyte contractions. A second emphasis is the validation of AKAP and AKAP-dependent protein-protein interactions as potential new pharmacological targets.


  • since 2014 President of the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
  • 2009-2014 Chairman of the Board of Directors and Scientific Director, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC) Berlin, Germany
  • since 2003 Professor (S-W3) for Molekular Pharmacology with a focus on signal transduction at Charité–Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany
  • 2003-2008 Director, Institute of Pharacology, Charité-Universitätsmedizin‚ Berlin (Successor of Prof. G. Schultz), Germany
  • since 1999 Unlimited authorization for advanced education in the areas of pharmacology and toxicology through the Medical Chamber Berlin, Germany
  • 1998-2003 Professor (S-C4) at the Institute for Pharmacology of the University Clinic Benjamin Franklin, Free University Berlin, Germany
  • 1996-2008 Director, Leibniz Institute for Molecular Pharmacology (FMP) Institute of the Leibniz Association (WGL), Germany
  • 1993-1996 Professor for Pharmacology and Toxicology (C4) and Managing Director at the Rudolf Buchheim Institute for Pharmacology of the Justus Liebig University Gießen, Germany
  • 1991-1993 Visiting Professor at the Department of Cell Biology, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, USA
  • 1991 Licensed as a physician in the areas of Pharmacology and Toxicology through the Berlin State Board of Physicians
  • 1990 Appointment as Associate Professor
  • 1990 Habilitation in the disciplines of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University Clinic Rudolf Virchow, Free University Berlin, Germany
  • 1984-1989 Postdoctoral Fellow, Institute for Pharmacology, Free University Berlin, Germany
  • 1983-1984 Guest Scientist,Department of Cell Biology, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston Texas, USA
  • 1983-1984 Postdoctoral Fellow, Institute of Pharmacology of the Ruprecht Karls Universität Heidelberg, Germany
  • 1983 Doctoral degree in Medicine from the Justus Liebig University Gießen, Germany
  • 1982-1983 Assistant in a general medical practice in Holzhausen bei Wetzlar, Germany
  • 1974-1980 Medical Studies, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen and practical year at the Royal Free Hospital, School of Medicine, London, UK


  • since 2010 Chairman, Association for the Long Night of Sciences e.V., Berlin, Germany
  • since 2010 CO-Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Molecular Medicine, Springer-Verlag, Heidelberg, Germany
  • since 2009 Chairman, Supervisory Board of BBB Berlin-Buch Campus Management GmbH, Germany
  • 2008-2010 Jury Member, Competition Hightech.NRW
  • 2005-2007 Speaker, Board Directors, Research Association (Forschungsverbundes) Berlin e. V., Germany
  • since 2004 Co-Editor, Encyclopedic Reference of Molecular Pharmacology
  • 2004-2008 Member, Board of Directors and Treasurer, Association of Biosciences and Biomedicine (biowissenschaftlicher und biomedizinischer Gesellschaften e.V., vbbm)
  • since 2003 Editorial Board, Handbook of Experimental Pharmacology, Springer-Verlag, Heidelberg, Germany


  • since 2011 Board of Directors, German Center for Cardiovascular Disease (Deutsche Zentrum für Herz-Kreislauferkrankungen, DZHK)
  • since 2011 Scientific Advisory Board of the Clinical Research Institute of Montréal (IRCM), Canada
  • since 2011 Head of the Scientific Advisory Board and Member of the Bord of Trustees of the German Institute for Nutrition Research (Deutschen Instituts für Ernährungsforschung, DIfE)
  • since 2009 Board of Trustees, Heinrich Wieland Prize Committee
  • since 2009 Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board and Member of the Board of Trustees of the Hans Knöll Institute (HKI), Jena, Germany
  • 2007-2008 Speaker, Section C, “Life Sciences” and Member of the Presidium of the Leibniz Association
  • 2006-2008 Board of Directors, German Diabetes Center (Deutsches Diabetes-Zentrums, DDZ)
  • 2005-2007 Deputy Speaker, Section C, "Life Sciences" and Member of the Presidium of the Leibniz Association
  • 2004-2010 Scientific Advisory Board and Board of Trustees, German Institute for Nutrition Research (Deutschen Instituts für Ernährungsforschung, DIfE)
  • 2003-2008 Scientific Advisory Board, Hans Knöll Institute (HKI), Jena, Germany

Honours and Memberships

  • 1991-1993 Heisenberg Scholarship / Visiting Professor at the Department of Cell Biology, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas, USA
  • 1983 Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds Fellowship




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org