Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Peter Hänggi

Year of election: 2003
Section: Physics
City: Augsburg
Country: Germany
CV Peter Hänggi - English (pdf)


Main research interests: Theoretical Physics – Statistical Physics, Brownian motors

Peter Hanggi is distinguished for many seminal contributions in the area of statistical physics and driven quantum mechanics which he achieved at the Polytechnic Institute of New York and the University of Augsburg. He is worldwide known for his key contributions to reaction rate theory, driven quantum mechanics and quantum dissipation. The phenomenon of Stochastic Resonance, his discovery of coherent destruction of tunnelling and his initiation of the field of Brownian motors.


  • 1986 Professor (Ordinarius C4 / W3) for Theoretical Physics (Emphasis: Statistical Physics), Institute of Physics, University Augsburg, Germany
  • 1983-1987 Associate professor (with tenure), Polytechnic Institute of New York, New York, USA
  • 1979-1980 Postgraduate research associate, University of California, San Diego, USA
  • 1978-1979 Guest Professor, University Stuttgart, Germany
  • 1977-1978 Research Associate University of Illinois, Urbana, USA
  • 1977 Ph. D. in theoretical physics, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • 1974 Diploma in physics, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • 1970-1974 Studies of physics at the University of Basel, Switzerland


  • since 2011 Editor-in-chief: EPJ-B
  • 2004-2011 ChemPhysChem
  • since 2003 Physica A, Chemical physics
  • 2003-2011 Physical Biology
  • 2003-2009 Editor/Co-editor: Physical Review E
  • 2000-2003 Chair of division of “Dynamics and Statistical Physics”, DPG
  • 2001-2009 Board member, “Statistical and Nonlinear Physics” of the European Phys. Soc. (EPS)
  • 1998-2007 New Journal of Physics
  • 1997-2007 Europhysics Letters
  • since 1994 Lecture Notes of Physics, EPJ-ST(Special Topics), Intern. Review of Electrical Eng., IREE, Intern. Review of Physics, IREPHY, The Open Journal of Chemical Physics, Ukrainian J. Physics
  • 1994-2012 Chair: Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) for European Physical Journal (EPJ): A, B, C, D, E, Appl. Phys., Member of the board of the German Physical Society, DPG

Honours and Memberships

  • 2018 Marian-Smoluchwoski-Emil-Warburg-Prize 2019
  • 2018 Honorary Professor from Huaqiao University, Xiamen, China
  • 2018 Blaise Pascal Medal, European Academy of Sciences
  • 2016 Dr. honoris causa from Lobachevsky University, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
  • 2015 Elected outstanding reviewer status, Elsevier publications
  • 2014 Distinguished scientist award and medal, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
  • 2014 Elected member, European Academy of Sciences (EURSAC)
  • 2012 Elected member (2013/2015) for ERC-panel PE 3 (Physical and Engineering Sciences)
  • 2011 Lars Onsager Medal and Lars Onsager Lecture Prize
  • 2010 Lindhard Lecture Prize 2010, University of Aarhus, Denmark
  • 2010 selected for ISIHighlyCited.com
  • 2010 Dr. honoris causa from the Bogolyubov Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kiev
  • 2009 elected Outstanding Referee of the American Physical Society (APS)
  • 2009 Invited Distinguished Lecture Series at Asian Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP)
  • 2009 Dr. honoris causa from the Universidad de Sevilla, Spain
  • 2008 Dr. honoris causa rer. nat. from the Humboldt University Berlin, Germany
  • 2007 Award of honorary professor at Beijing Normal University, Beijing, China
  • 2007 Elected ordinary member of the Academia Europaea, Physics and Engineering Section
  • 2006 Dr. honoris causa from the National Academy of Ukraine, Ukraine
  • 2006 Dr. honoris causa from Tartar State University of Humanities and Pedagogical Sciences, Kazan, Russia
  • 2005 Elected foreign fellow: Am. Assoc. Adv. Science (AAAS)
  • 2005 Dr. honoris causa from (i) the University of Silesia, Katowice (Poland);( ii) Universidad de Barcelona, Spain and (iii) University of Camerino, Italy
  • 2003 Elected member: German Academy of Natural Scientists Leopoldina
  • 2003 Eminent Scientist Award, Riken, Japan
  • 2002 Humboldt Honorary Research Award of the Foundation of Polish Science
  • 2001 Elected external member of the MPI-PKS Dresden and member of the Max-Planck Society
  • 1999 Fellow and Chartered Scientist Award (CSciCPhys/FInstP) Inst. of Physics
  • 1998 Michael Professorship, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • 1995 Nicolas Cabrera Professorship, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain
  • 1988 Fellow of the American Physical Society




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Expert Search

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.