Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Hans-Christian Pape

Year of election: 2003
Section: Neurosciences
City: Münster
Country: Germany
CV Hans-Christian Pape - Deutsch (pdf)


Main research interests: Fear, anxiety, anxiety disorders; Rhythms of the Brain; Experimental Epilepsy Research

Hans-Christian Pape is considered one of the world-leading experts in the field of neurophysiology. Using behavioural and electrophysiological approaches he described key mechanisms underlying the regulation of wakefulness/sleep and fear/anxiety behaviour. Pape is also known for his excellent teaching capabilities: he has been elected “Distinguished Teacher of the Year” by the students of Münster University in 2006.

Photo: Alexander von Humboldt Foundation


  • as of 2018 President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • since 2004 Professor and Head of the Department of Physiology I, Münster University, Germany
  • 1994-2004 Professor and Head of the Department of Physiology, Magdeburg University, Germany
  • 1992 Habilitation Physiology, Medical Faculty, Bochum University, Germany
  • 1989-1994 Assistant Professor, Department of Neurophysiology, Medical Faculty, Bochum University, Germany
  • 1987-1988 Postdoctoral Research Associate, Dept. of Neurobiology, SUNY Stony Brook and Section of Neurobiology, Yale University, USA
  • 1986 PhD (Dr. rer. nat.) in Biology-Medical Neuroscience, University GHS Essen, Germany
  • 1983-1987 Research Associate, Section of Neurophysiology, Medical Faculty, University Essen, Germany
  • 1982 Graduation in Biology, Bochum University, Germany
  • 1976-1982 Study of Biology, Bochum University, Germany


  • since 2008 Speaker of the Transregional Collaborative Research Centre (SFB-TRR 58) "Fear, Anxiety, Anxiety Disorders"
  • 2001-2013 Local Organizer of the Transregional Collaborative Research Centre (SFB-TR3) “Mesial Temporal Lobe Epilepsy”
  • 1997-2004 Speaker of the Collaborative Research Centre (SFB 426) “Limbic Structures and Functions"


  • 2016-2017 Speaker of the Scientific Committee of the German Science Council
  • 2011-2017 Member of the German Science Council
  • since 2006 Speaker of the Research Unit “Neuromedicine”, Münster University, Germany
  • since 2006 Member Board of Directors of the “Interdisciplinary Centre of Clinical Research”, Münster University, Germany
  • 1999-2005 Member of the Senate of the German Research Foundation (DFG)

Honours and Memberships

  • 2008 Research Award of the Münster University, Germany
  • 2007 Max Planck Research Award
  • 2006 Distinguished Teacher of the Year, Münster University, Germany
  • since 2003 Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 1999 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Award of the DFG
  • 1997 Research Award of the Magdeburg University, Germany
  • 1993 Heisenberg Stipend of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • 1990 Bennigsen-Foerder-Award, Ministry of Science and Research NRW




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Expert Search

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.