Leopoldina Home Menü

Leopoldina Home

Working Group

Future of work after Corona

How can tomorrow's work environment be designed for the good of all, given the fundamental changes brought about by digitization, the dissolution of boundaries, and globalization? As a central element of societal life, work not only reflects a wide range of trends, lines of conflict, and challenges but also provides different areas of society with opportunities for comprehensive and coherent shaping. Taking the profound impact posed by the coronavirus pandemic as a starting point, the working group of the standing committee sheds light on existing developments in the organization of work, in gender and generational relations, and with regard to mobility patterns and forms of living.

Old certainties in companies, at the government level, and in civil society have been called into question by the pandemic. A historically unique scope is opening up for the redesign of gainful employment, care work, and other forms of work. The working group can build upon the discussions of previous projects and commissions on the future of work.

The objective is to formulate innovative design approaches and specific options for action. The concepts of the common good and utopia serve as a guideline. Both concepts are often based on ideas of future work environments, which are explicitly examined. In addition, the comparison with developments in other regions of the world broadens the perspective. With its final statement, events, and other creative formats, the working group will seek dialog with public and political stakeholders.

The Interdisciplinary Working Group “Future of Work after Corona“ was set up by the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in association with the Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities, the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and acatech - German Academy of Science and Engineering. The Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities is leading the project.


  • acatech - German Academy of Science and Engineering
  • German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities
  • Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences (responsibility)

Spokesperson of the Working Group

Members of the Working Group

  • Prof. Dr. Axel Börsch-Supan ML, Max-Planck-Institut für Sozialrecht und Sozialpolitik, München
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Eckert, Institut für Asien- und Afrikawissenschaften, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Ute Frevert ML, Max-Planck-Institut für Bildungsforschung, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Detlev Ganten ML, Stiftung Charité, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Lisa Herzog, Fakultät für Philosophie, Universität Groningen (Niederlande)
  • Prof. Dr. Gesche Joost, Institut für Produkt- und Prozessgestaltung, Universität der Künste Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Kocka ML, Senior Fellow am Zentrum für Zeithistorische Forschung, Potsdam
  • Prof. Dr. Martin Krzywdzinski, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB)
  • Regine Leibinger, Architekturbüro Barkow Leibinger, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph Markschies, Präsident Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW), Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Jutta Mata, Lehrstuhl für Gesundheitspsychologie, Universität Mannheim
  • Prof. Dr. Steffen Mau, Institut für Sozialwissenschaften, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Maximilian Mayer, Center for Advanced Security, Strategic and Integration Studies (CASSIS), Universität Bonn
  • Dr. Andreas Mergenthaler, Bundesinstitut für Bevölkerungsforschung, Wiesbaden
  • Prof. Dr. Timo Meynhardt, Lehrstuhl für Wirtschaftspsychologie und Führung, Handelshochschule Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Philipp Misselwitz, Habitat Unit, Technische Universität Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Dieter Spath, Fraunhofer-Institut für Arbeitswirtschaft und Organisation IAO, Stuttgart
  • Katrin Voermanek (Gast), Lehrbeauftragte zur Rolle der Sprache in der Architektur, Berlin
  • Dr. Amelie Wiedemann, Dearemployee GmbH, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Katharina Wrohlich, Deutsches Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW), Berlin

Scientific Coordinator

  • Moritz Neugebauer, Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences

ML = Member of the Leopoldina



Dr. Kathrin Happe

Scientific officer, Deputy Head of Department Science – Policy – Society

Phone 0345 47 239 - 862
Fax 0345 47 239 - 839
E-Mail kathrin.happe (at)leopoldina.org