Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home

Working Groups


Update of the 2008 Recommendations

Vaccinations are still one of the most effective measures against infectious diseases. In the past, numerous infectious diseases, especially measles, mumps, rubella, poliomyelitis, diphtheria and tetanus, have been widely kept in check by the use of vaccines. There are, however, still no vaccines available for the HIV/AIDS, malaria or hepatitis C epidemics. Based on a symposium on vaccinations that took place on November 8, 2010, the working group revised the Leopoldina position statement and recommendations from the year 2008.

Among other things, the report dealt with the following points:

  • The current state of biomedical research and the research being done with the goal of developing of new vaccines
  • Authorization procedures and requirements, and vaccination recommendations
  • Evaluation of the effectiveness, costs and benefits of vaccinations
  • The tasks and interests of science, politics and industry
  • Education and training requirements
  • Knowledge and attitudes regarding infections and vaccinations in the populace


  • National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Spokespersons of the Working Group

  • Prof. Dr. Stefan H. E. Kaufmann ML, Max-Planck-Institut für Infektionsbiologie Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Jörg Hacker ML, President of the Leopoldina

Members of the Working Group

  • PD Dr. Cornelia Betsch, Universität Erfurt, Center for Empirical Research in Economics and Behavioral Science
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Cichutek, Paul-Ehrlich-Institut, Bundesinstitut für Impfstoffe und biomedizinische Arzneimittel
  • Prof. Dr. Werner Goebel ML, Max-von-Pettenkofer-Institut für Hygiene  und Medizinische Mikrobiologie, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Dieter Klenk ML, Institut für Virologie, Philipps-Universität Marburg
  • Prof. Dr. Gérard Krause, Abteilungsleiter Epidemiologie, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung, Braunschweig
  • Prof. Dr. Anja Mehnert, Department für Psychische Gesundheit, Selbständige Abteilung Medizinische Psychologie und Medizinische Soziologie, Sektion Psychosoziale Onkologie, Universitätsklinikum Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr Thomas Mertens, Institut für Virologie, Universitätsklinikum Ulm
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas C. Mettenleiter ML, Friedrich-Löffler-Institut, Bundesforschungsinstitut für Tiergesundheit
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Radbruch ML, Deutsches Zentrum für Rheumatische Erkrankungen
  • Dr. Klaus Stöhr, Basel
  • Dr. Ole Wichmann, Fachgruppe Impfprävention am Robert Koch Institut, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Lothar-Heinz Wieler ML, Präsident Robert-Koch-Institut, Berlin



Dr. Kathrin Happe

Scientific officer, Deputy Head of Department

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 862
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 839
E-Mail kathrin.happe @leopoldina.org