Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


Mitgliederverzeichnis | Expertensuche

Suchen Sie unter den Mitgliedern der Leopoldina nach Expertinnen und Experten zu Fachgebieten oder Forschungsthemen.

Neue Suche

Prof. Dr.

Greet Van den Berghe

Wahljahr: 2013
Sektion: Chirurgie, Orthopädie und Anästhesiologie
Stadt: Leuven
Land: Belgien
CV Greet Van den Berghe - Englisch (PDF)


Greet Van den Berghe studied at the faculty of Medicine of the KU Leuven – University of Leuven, Belgium and did her internships at the University of Bristol UK. She graduated in 1985 after which she specialized in Anesthesiology and later in Intensive Care Medicine. She subsequently studied biostatistics and completed a Ph.D. thesis in Endocrinology. She is currently head of the Department & Laboratory of Intensive Care Medicine at the KU Leuven – University of Leuven, Belgium. Greet Van den Berghe is also full Professor of Medicine at the Leuven University, and has been running an active research program on the endocrinology of critical illness since 1995. She has been a Clinical Research Investigator for the Fund for Scientific Research Flanders, Belgium, is a member of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine and a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.


  • 2002 Head of Intensive Care Medicine at the University KU Leuven, Belgium
  • 2001 Full professor an der University KU Leuven
  • 1995 Professor at the University KU Leuven
  • 1994 Habilitation at the University (PhD), KU Leuven
  • 1985 Promotion at the University KU Leuven
  • 1978-1985 Studies at the University KU Leuven and Bristol, GB


  • since 2010 ESPEN Faculty member
  • since 2008 Panel Member for the ERC Starting Grant evaluation
  • since 2005 Faculty of 1000 Medicine : Critical Care – Section Head : “Metabolic Disorders”
  • 2005-2012 Chair of the Academic Department of Acute Medical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine, KU Leuven
  • 2002-2007 KU Leuven -  Novo Nordisk Chair of Research on Insulin in Critical illness
  • since 2000 Member of the Ethical Committee of the Belgian Ministry of Agriculture
  • since 1999 Member of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine


  • 2012-2016 ERC advanced grant (AdvG - 2012 - 321670) of the “Ideas Program” of the EU FP7
  • since 1995 Many Research grants from the Fund for Scientific Research, Flanders, Belgium
  • since 2008 Several grants from the Flemish Institute for Science and Technology (IWT)
  • since 2009 Hercules financing 2009 (AUGE/09/022) [Promoters: J Decruyenaere (UGent), P Jorens (UA), G Van den Berghe (KU Leuven)]
  • since 2008 Methusalem longterm structural financing by the Flemish Government
  • 2007-2010 Non-restrictive research grant from Baxter Healthcare  for part of the “EPaNIC” multicenter study (ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier:  NCT00512122)
  • 2004-2008 EU Information Society Technologies: Integrated project “CLINICIP: Closed Loop Insulin Infusion for Critically Ill Patients” contract nr. 506965
  • 2002-2007 KU Leuven - Novo Nordisk Chair for Research on Insulin in Intensive Care

Honours and Memberships

  • 2013 Elected as Honorary member by the Executive Committee of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine, Paris, France
  • 2009 11th David Murdock-Dole Lectureship Award; Awarded jointly by the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, US  and the Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden
  • 2009 Stoutenbeek Award for the best protocol of a clinical investigation in intensive care medicine
  • 2003 The Menarini Award for Diabetology 2003
  • 2001 Förderpreis Intensivmedizin München/Münster 2002
  • 2001 The 2001 HypoCCS award for ‘Clinical research in the field of hypothalamus-pituitary diseases and their impact on peripheral receptive tissues or organs’
  • 1999 The European Neuroendocrine Association (ENEA) Young Investigator Award 1999
  • 1999 American Endocrine Society Award: ‘The Honorable Mention for Excellence in Published Clinical Research in J Clin Endocrinol Metab’
  • 1998 Belgian Endocrine Society Lecture Award 1998
  • 1998 The G. Zambon Award for Pharmacology 1997-1998
  • 1996 SIZ 1996 Award of the Belgian Society of Intensive Care Medicine
  • 1996 Prize Dr. Karel Verleysen for Human Medicine 1992-1995, Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine
  • 1995 American Society of Critical Care Medicine ‘Internal Medicine Specialty Award 1995’
  • 1994 Förderpreis Intensivmedizin München/ Münster




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Tel. 0345 - 47 239 - 120
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profile exzellenter Wissenschaftlerinnen bei AcademiaNet – eine Initiative der Robert Bosch Stiftung.