Leopoldina Home


Press Releases

89 Press Releases
  • Leopoldina president Jörg Hacker congratulates Leopoldina member Sir James Fraser Stoddart for winning the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

    Wednesday, 5. October 2016 - The British chemist Sir James Fraser Stoddart, a member of the Leopoldina, is honoured with the 2016 Nobel Prize for chemistry. Stoddart shares the award with the French chemist Jean-Pierre Sauvage and the Dutch scientist Bernard L. Feringa. All three researchers are commended for the development and synthesis of molecular machines. These are molecules that have controllable movements. The chemical bonds are a thousand times thinner than a human hair and function like artificial muscles and tiny motors.

  • Leopoldina Annual Assembly discusses the competition among different knowledge cultures

    Friday, 23. September 2016 - The German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina has chosen “The Sciences in Intercultural Dialogue” as the central theme of its 2016 Annual Assembly, which opened in Halle (Saale) today. This year’s two-day event sees renowned researchers address issues surrounding global scientific culture. At the heart of the discussions is the question of how to establish effective intercultural dialogue in science. The opening ceremony included a speech by Johanna Wanka, Federal Minister of Education and Research.

  • Sinologist Lena Henningsen is the 2016 winner of the Leopoldina Early Career Award presented by the Commerzbank Foundation

    Thursday, 1. September 2016 - Dr Lena Henningsen of the Institute of Chinese Studies at Freiburg University and member of the Young Academy has won the Leopoldina Early Career Award 2016, which is worth €30,000 and is funded by the Commerzbank Foundation. The National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina chose the sinologist for her outstanding research into present-day Chinese culture as well as her commitment to intercultural dialogue and to promoting a differentiated image of China. Lena Henningsen will be presented with the Early Career Award at the Leopoldina Annual Assembly on Friday 23 September in Halle (Saale).

  • Alliance of Science Organisations in Germany denounces drastic interventions in the academic freedom of Turkish researchers

    Joint Statement of the Alliance of Science Organisations

    Thursday, 28. July 2016 - The Alliance of Science Organisations in Germany strongly denounces the drastic interventions in the academic freedom of Turkish researchers which have ensued directly from various measures taken by the Turkish government since the attempted coup in the night of 16 July. These measures not only include the at least temporary restriction of researchers’ movement but also the politically motivated removal of researchers and rectors from their institutions through to the forced resignation of all deans.

  • On the Interim Evaluation of Horizon 2020

    Joint position statement concerning the interim evaluation of the “Horizon 2020“ EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation

    Wednesday, 13. July 2016 - The EU Commission is currently preparing an interim evaluation of Horizon 2020. The Alliance wishes to become involved in this process at an early stage. Horizon 2020 was launched in 2014 with the aim of achieving the following political objectives: to consolidate scientific excellence, to tackle Europe’s major societal challenges, and to pro-mote economic growth. The results of the FP7 ex-post-evaluation show that the emphasis was clearly less on achieving thematic objectives than on quantitatively assessing publications, patents and return on in-vestment. The Horizon 2020 interim evaluation should instead focus on the issue of whether and how the programme contributes to implementing the aforementioned objectives.

  • UN Scientific Advisory Board makes recommendations on food security, climate change and science in the 2030 Agenda

    Joint press release by the German Commission for UNESCO and the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

    Thursday, 26. May 2016 - The Scientific Advisory Board set up by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon met in Trieste and produced a set of recommendations for the future of science. The recommendations focus on the role of science in the implementation of the global Agenda for Sustainable Development, the risks associated with climate change, the interaction between nutrition and health, the compatibility of science with traditional and indigenous knowledge, and future science-based policy advice at the UN. The Board, made up of 26 leading scientists from around the world, will shortly present its recommendations to Secretary-General Ban. Prof. Jörg Hacker, President of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, represents Germany on the Board as a member appointed ad personam.

  • G-Science Academies call for actions on brain science, disaster resilience, and future scientists

    Wednesday, 20. April 2016 - The G-Science Academies delivered three statements for discussion during the G7 summit at Ise Shima in May 2016 to their respective heads of government. This year’s G-Science Academies Meeting, which was hosted by Science Council of Japan, was convened on the 18th and 19th of February in Tokyo.

  • Science, central to Paris Climate Agreement and Sustainable Development, says UN’s Scientific Advisory Board

    Thursday, 17. December 2015 - On the heels of the recently concluded climate change negotiations in Paris, the United Nations Secretary General’s Scientific Advisory Board focused on harnessing the full potential of science and knowledge, including social sciences and local and indigenous knowledge, to realize fully the Paris Climate Agreement and the Sustainable Development Goals.

  • Academies publish brief statement about health care for asylum seekers

    Thursday, 15. October 2015 - The safeguarding of the health of all the people living in Germany is the ultimate goal of public healthcare – including the people petitioning Germany for humanitarian protection (asylum seekers). The provision of healthcare for asylum seekers presents the German healthcare system with new challenges. The German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, acatech – German Academy of Science and Engineering, and The Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities have responded to this situation by formulating a brief statement which was released today.

  • Leopoldina President Jörg Hacker congratulates the Leopoldina member Satoshi Ōmura on his Nobel Prize

    Monday, 5. October 2015 - The Japanese pharmacologist and chemist Satoshi Ōmura, who is a member of the Leopoldina, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. The scientist was honoured jointly with William C. Campbell (USA) for the research on new therapies against infections caused by roundworm parasites. They both shared one half of this year’s Nobel Prize in Medicine, the other half going to the Chinese pharmacologist Youyou Tu for her discovery of the anti-malaria drug Artemisinin.



Caroline Wichmann

Head of Department Press and Public Relations

Phone 0345 - 472 39 - 800
Fax 0345 - 472 39 - 809
E-Mail caroline.wichmann @leopoldina.org

RSS Feed

The RSS feed keeps you informed about our latest press releases.

RSS Feed press releases

Principles for Press and Public Relations

Principles for Press Releases of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Guidelines for good science PR (pdf)