Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Erwin Neher

Nobel prize for medicine und physiology 1991

Year of election: 1998
Section: Genetics/Molecular Biology and Cell Biology
City: Göttingen
Country: Germany
CV Erwin Neher - deutsch (pdf)


Erwin Neher is known for the proof of the ion channel concept in biological membranes. Together with Bert Sakmann he developed the patch clamp technique, which for the first time allowed to record discrete steps in membrane current representing the opening and closing of individual ion channels. This discovery in 1976 represents the first example for visualizing conformational changes of single biological macromolecules. It initiated an explosion in ion channel research, since the very sensitive tools, developed by Neher & Sakmann, revealed that hundreds of different types of ion channels subserve a multitude of regulatory functions in both animal and plant cells. After 1985 Erwin Neher concentrated on signaling mechanisms at the cellular level. He studied [Ca++]-signals in single cells and developed methods to assay neurotransmitter and hormone release from single cells. In particular, he used the measurement of membrane capacitance to assay exocytosis in combination with fluorimetric [Ca++] measurement and stimulation of cells by photolytic release of [Ca++] from caged-[Ca++] compounds. This way, he and his collaborators were able to establish quantitative relationships between the rate of exocytosis and [Ca++] in various secretory cell types. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Medicine together with Bert Sakmann in 1991.


  • 1983 - 2011 Direktor und Leiter der Abteilung Membranbiophysik am Max Planck Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen
  • 1989 Fairchild Scholar California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
  • 1981 Habilitation am Fachbereich Physik der Universität Göttingen
  • 1975 - 1976 Research Associate Yale University, New Haven, USA
  • 1972 - 1982 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie, Göttingen
  • 1970 - 1972 Wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Max-Planck-Institut (MPI) für Psychiatrie, München
  • 1970 Promotion in Physik an der TU München
  • 1967 Master of Science University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA
  • 1963 - 1970 Studium der Physik an der Technischen Universität München (TU) und an der University of Wisconsin, Madison/USA


  • seit 2002 DFG-Teilprojektleiter “Quantitative Molecular Microscopy“, Teilprojekt zu FZT 103: Molekularphysiologie des Gehirns
  • 2001 - 2006 DFG-Teilprojektleiter „Die Rolle der Interaktion zwischen AMPA-Rezeptor Untereinheiten auf das Schaltverhalten des AMPA Rezeptors“, Teilprojekt zu SFB 406: Synaptische Interaktion in neuronalen Zellverbänden
  • 1999 - 2008 DFG-Projekt „Qualitative Erfassung vesikulärer Freisetzung in zentralen Synapsen“
  • 1996 - 2005 DFG-Teilprojektleiter „Kinetische Analyse von Mutanten sekretorischer Proteine“, Teilprojekt zu SFB 523: Protein- und Membrantransport zwischen zellulären Kompartimenten


  • Erwin Neher war Mitherausgeber mehrerer Fachzeitschriften, darunter “Cellular Physiology & Biochemistry“ und “European Journal of Physiology“.

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 1997 Großer Verdienstorden mit Stern und Schulterband des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
  • seit 1995 Mitglied im Orden „Pour le Mérite für Wissenschaften und Künste“
  • seit 1994 Ausländisches Mitglied der Royal Society, London 
  • 1991 Nobelpreis für Physiologie oder Medizin, gemeinsam mit Bert Sakmann
  • 1991 Gerard Prize der American Neuroscience Association
  • 1990 Niedersächsischer Staatspreis für Wissenschaft
  • 1990 Bristol-Myers Squibb Research Award
  • 1990 Hans Hellmut Vits-Preis der Universität Münster
  • seit 1989 Ausländisches Mitglied der National Academy of Sciences der USA
  • 1989 Internationaler Forschungspreis der Gairdner Foundation, Toronto, Kanada
  • 1986 Honorarprofessor an der Universität Göttingen
  • 1986 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • 1986 Schunck-Preis der Universität Gießen
  • 1986 Fidia Research Award Lecture, Fidia Research Foundation
  • 1986 Louisa Gross-Horwitz Award der Columbia University New York
  • 1984 Adolf Fick-Preis der Universität Würzburg
  • 1983 Spencer Award der Columbia University New York 
  • 1982 Harold Lamport Award der New York Academy of Sciences
  • 1982 K.C. Cole Award der American Biophysical Society
  • 1979 Feldberg Award, Feldberg Foundation, London
  • 1977 Nernst-Haber-Bodenstein-Preis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für physikalische Chemie
  • Neher ist zudem Träger zahlreicher Ehrendoktortitel.   




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org