Leopoldina Home Menü

Leopoldina Home


Joint Committee on the Handling of Security-Relevant Research

Joint Committee on the Handling of Security-Relevant Research

Illustration: Sisters of Design

The Joint Committee was established by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the Leopoldina to raise awareness amongst researchers of dual-use issues in security-relevant research and to further develop and foster both a responsible approach to security-relevant research and self-governance within the research community. The Committee advances the implementation of the recommendations on “Scientific Freedom and Scientific Responsibility” issued by the DFG and Leopoldina.

The work of the Joint Committee is focussed on promoting the establishment of Committees for Ethics in Security-Relevant Research at the individual German research institutions and on guiding their work. The Joint Committee provides assistance in dealing with questions on related issues and serves as a platform to share experience.

Members of the Joint Committee

The Joint Committee comprises scientists from various disciplines and institutions appointed by the presidiums of the DFG and Leopoldina in mutual agreement. At least one member is an expert on ethical issues and one on legal issues. The Joint Committee is headed jointly by the vice president of the DFG and the Leopoldina or by representatives appointed by the presidiums.


  • Prof. Dr. Britta Siegmund ML, Vice President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Lengauer ML, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, Representative of the Leopoldina Presidium

Other members

  • Dr. Anna Lisa Ahlers, MPI für Wissenschaftsgeschichte Berlin
  • Dr. Anna Lisa Ahlers, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Barben, University of Klagenfurt, Department of Society, Knowledge and Politics
  • PD Dr. Jens Bohne, Hannover Medical School, Institute of Virology
  • Dr. Una Jakob, Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (Leibniz Institute), Frankfurt am Main
  • Prof. Dr. Anika Klafki, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Faculty of Law
  • Prof. Dr. Florian Kraus, Philipps University Marburg, Department of Chemistry
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrike von Luxburg ML, University of Tübingen, Theory of Machine Learning
  • Prof. Dr. Lars Schaade, Robert Koch Institute, Berlin, Centre for Biological Threats and Special Pathogens
  • Prof. Dr. Silke Schicktanz, University Medical Center Göttingen, Department of Medical Ethics and History of Medicine

ML = Member of the Leopoldina



Dr. Johannes Fritsch

Head of Office of the Joint Committee for the Handling of Security-Relevant Research

Phone 0160 9121 2676
Fax 030 - 241 8987 - 477
E-Mail johannes.fritsch (at)leopoldina.org



Dr. Anita Krätzner-Ebert

Scientific Officer of the Joint Committee for the Handling of Security-Relevant Research

Phone 0175 - 2933935
Fax 030 - 241 8987 - 477
E-Mail anita.kraetzner-ebert (at)leopoldina.org

Dr. Ingrid Ohlert

Contact at the German Research Foundation

phone: +49 (0) 228 - 885 2258

fax: +49 (0) 228 - 885 713 320

email: ingrid.ohlert(at)dfg.de