Leopoldina Home Menü

Leopoldina Home




The Leopoldina Presidium in September 2023 in Halle (Saale). Image: Markus Scholz for the Leopoldina

The Academy is led by a Executive Board and a Presidium. The Presidium meets at least four times a year to discuss and prepare all major decisions regarding the Academy. The Leopoldina is managed in accordance with its statutes, the Presidium’s rules of procedure and its election regulations.

The members of the Presidium are elected by the Senate and serve for a period of five years; they can be re-elected once. As defined by the law, the Presidium is chaired by the President and four Vice Presidents. It also includes other members. Prof. (ETHZ) Gerald Haug assumed office as the Leopoldina’s 27th president on March 1st, 2020.


Prof. (ETHZ) Dr. Gerald Haug, Climate Researcher, Halle/Mainz/Berlin

Vice Presidents

Prof. Dr. Ulla Bonas, Plant Geneticist, Halle (Saale)
Prof. Dr. Thomas Krieg, Dermatologist, Cologne
Prof. Regina Riphahn, Ph.D., Economist, Nürnberg
Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl, Chemist and Catalysis Researcher, Berlin


Class I: Mathematics, Natural Sciences and Engineering
Prof. Dr. Onno Oncken, Geologist, Potsdam

Class II: Life Sciences
Prof. Dr. Claus R. Bartram, Human Geneticist, Heidelberg

Class III: Medicine
Prof. Dr. Jutta Gärtner, Paediatrician, Göttingen​​​​​​​

Class IV: Humanities, Social and Behavioural Sciences
Prof. Dr. Charlotte Klonk, Art Historian, Berlin

Members of the Presidium

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Baumjohann, Earth Scientist, Graz
Prof. Dr. Thomas Lengauer, Computer Scientist, Saarbrücken
Prof. Dr. Martin Quack, Chemist, Zürich

Secretary General

Franziska Hornig (with consultative voice), Link to CV

Former presidency members (with consultative voice)

Prof. Dr. Jörg Hacker, Microbiologist, Berlin
Prof. Dr. Volker ter Meulen, Virologist, Würzburg



Dr. Jörg Beineke

Senior Scientific Coordinator

Phone 0345 47 239 - 954
Fax 0345 47 239 - 919
E-Mail joerg.beineke (at)leopoldina.org