Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home

About us

Awards and Honours

The Academy’s highest honour, the Leopoldina Honorary Membership, is reserved for members who are particularly deserving due to their scientific merits and their service to the Academy. The physicists Max Planck (1941) and Werner Heisenberg (1967) are among those who have received this honour. In 2010, former Leopoldina President  Volker ter Meulen was awarded Honorary Membership for his work leading up to the Leopoldina’s appointment as the German National Academy of Sciences.

The title of Honorary Sponsor is awarded to Leopoldina members, and also non-members, who have made a decisive contribution to the good of the Academy in their field. Wolfgang Frühwald (1995) and Horst Dietz (2013) are among those who have been awarded this title.



Dr. Jörg Beineke

Senior Scientific Coordinator

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 954
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 919
E-Mail joerg.beineke @leopoldina.org

Expert Search