Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Hans-Christian Pape

Year of election: 2003
Section: Neurosciences
City: Münster
Country: Germany
CV Hans-Christian Pape - Deutsch (pdf)


Main research interests: Fear, anxiety, anxiety disorders; Rhythms of the Brain; Experimental Epilepsy Research

Hans-Christian Pape is considered one of the world-leading experts in the field of neurophysiology. Using behavioural and electrophysiological approaches he described key mechanisms underlying the regulation of wakefulness/sleep and fear/anxiety behaviour. Pape is also known for his excellent teaching capabilities: he has been elected “Distinguished Teacher of the Year” by the students of Münster University in 2006.

Photo: Alexander von Humboldt Foundation


  • as of 2018 President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • since 2004 Professor and Head of the Department of Physiology I, Münster University, Germany
  • 1994-2004 Professor and Head of the Department of Physiology, Magdeburg University, Germany
  • 1992 Habilitation Physiology, Medical Faculty, Bochum University, Germany
  • 1989-1994 Assistant Professor, Department of Neurophysiology, Medical Faculty, Bochum University, Germany
  • 1987-1988 Postdoctoral Research Associate, Dept. of Neurobiology, SUNY Stony Brook and Section of Neurobiology, Yale University, USA
  • 1986 PhD (Dr. rer. nat.) in Biology-Medical Neuroscience, University GHS Essen, Germany
  • 1983-1987 Research Associate, Section of Neurophysiology, Medical Faculty, University Essen, Germany
  • 1982 Graduation in Biology, Bochum University, Germany
  • 1976-1982 Study of Biology, Bochum University, Germany


  • 2016-2017 Speaker of the Scientific Committee of the German Science Council
  • 2011-2017 Member of the German Science Council
  • since 2006 Speaker of the Research Unit “Neuromedicine”, Münster University, Germany
  • since 2006 Member Board of Directors of the “Interdisciplinary Centre of Clinical Research”, Münster University, Germany
  • 1999-2005 Member of the Senate of the German Research Foundation (DFG)


  • seit 2008 Sprecher des DFG-TransRegio SFB TRR 58 „Furcht, Angst, Angsterkrankungen“
  • 2001-2013 Standortsprecher und Organisator des DFG-TransRegio SFB TRR 3 „Mesiale Temporallappen-Epilepsie”
  • 1997-2004 Sprecher des DFG-SFB 426 „Limbische Strukturen und Funktionen“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2008 Forschungspreis der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster
  • 2007 Max-Planck-Forschungspreis der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
  • 2006 Lehrer des Jahres an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster
  • seit 2003 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 1999-2005 Mitglied im Senat der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • 1999 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der DFG
  • 1997 Forschungspreis der Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
  • 1993 Heisenberg-Stipendium der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft
  • 1990 Bennigsen-Förder-Preis, Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Forschung NRW




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.