Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Henning Dralle

Year of election: 2002
Section: Surgery, Orthopaedics and Anaesthesiology
City: Halle
Country: Germany


Henning Dralle is distinguished for many important scientific contributions to endocrine surgery and surgical oncology. Starting with his experimental and clinical studies at the department of surgery at Medical School Hannover the majority of medical research have been made since 1994 at the University Department of Surgery in Halle (Saale), Martin-Luther-University of Halle-Wittenberg.

Based on his fundamental and original studys on genotype-phenotype correlations in hereditary thyroid carcinoma, and surgical oncology in endocrine tumors his institution developed into a world-renowned center of endocrine surgery.

Image: Private


  • seit 2016 Professor für Endokrine Chirurgie am Universitätsklinikum Essen
  • 1994-2016 Professor für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Gefäßchirurgie an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
  • 1990 Apl. Professor an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover
  • 1986 Habilitation
  • 1980-1985 Assistenzarzt an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover
  • 1979-1980 Assistenzarzt am Marienkrankenhaus Hamburg
  • ab 1977 Ärztliche Ausbildung am Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf
  • 1976 Promotion an der Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
  • 1969-1975 Studium der Medizin in Kiel, Würzburg und Mainz

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2015 Theresienpreis
  • seit 2015 Ehrenmitglied der Italienischen Gesellschaft Endokriner Chirurgen
  • seit 2015 Ehrenmitglied der Polnischen Gesellschaft für Chirurgie
  • 2015 Ehrendoktorwürde der Jagiellonen-Universität Krakau
  • 2014 Aldo Pinchera Schilddrüsenkrebspreis
  • 2013 Light of Life Foundation Award des Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
  • 2012 Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Bergen
  • seit 2006 Ehrenmitglied des Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nuklearmedizin
  • seit 2002 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 1985 Hermann Kümmell-Preis der Vereinigung Nordwestdeutscher Chirurgen
  • 1982/83 Johann Georg Zimmermann-Medaille
  • Fellow des Royal College of Surgeons of England (FRCS)
  • Fellow des American College of Surgeons (FACS)
  • Ehrenmitglied der European Society of Surgery




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.