Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Huajian Gao

Year of election: 2017
Section: Engineering Sciences
City: Providence
Country: USA
CV Huajian Gao - Deutsch (pdf)


Forschungsschwerpunkte: Festkörpermechanik, Mikro- und Nanomechanik, Biomechanik, Nanomaterialien

Huajian Gao ist Ingenieurwissenschaftler. Er forscht auf dem Gebiet der Festkörpermechanik und widmet sich insbesondere der Mikro- und Nanomechanik von Dünnschichten, hierarchisch strukturierten Materialien und Interaktionen zwischen Zelle und Nanomaterialien.

Die Forschung von Huajian Gao fokussiert auf das Verständnis von Grundprinzipien, die die mechanischen Eigenschaften und das Verhalten von technischen und biologischen Materialien kontrollieren. Er untersucht das Verhalten von metallischen und Halbleitermaterialien in dünnen Schichten und nanokristallinen Formen. Zudem erforscht er, wie biologische Materialien wie Knochen und Zellen durch strukturelle Hierarchie ihre mechanische Robustheit erlangen.

Zu seinen Forschungsgebieten zählen beispielsweise Korngrenzendiffusionen und Verschiebungsprozesse in dünnen Schichten und nanokristallinen Materialien oder die Mechanik hierarchischer Strukturen in der Biologie. Anwenden lassen sich seine Forschungsergebnisse beispielsweise auf dem Gebiet der Mikroelektronik, der Nanotechnologie und der Optoelektronik.


  • seit 2006 Professor und Walter H. Annenberg Professor für Ingenieurwesen, Brown University, Providence, USA
  • 2002-2006 Honorarprofessor, Fakultät Chemie, Universität Stuttgart
  • 2001-2006 Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Metallwissenschaften, Stuttgart
  • 2002-2004 Visiting Professor, Stanford University, USA
  • 2000-2002 Full Professor, Stanford University, USA
  • 1995-2000 Associate Professor, Stanford University, USA
  • 1988-1994 Assistant Professor, Stanford University, USA
  • 1988 Ph.D., Ingenieurwissenschaften, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA
  • 1984 M.S., Ingenieurwissenschaften, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA
  • 1982 B.S., Solid Mechanics, Xi'an Jiaotong Universität, China


  • seit 2014 Editorial Board, „Acta Mechanica“
  • 2014 Special Invited Editor, PNAS (Proceedings of the US-National Academy of Sciences)
  • seit 2013 Editorial Board, „National Science Review“, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • 2013 Founding Co-Director, Center for Advanced Mechanics and Materials, Tsinghua University, Peking, China
  • 2012 Founding Deputy Director, International Center for Applied Mechanics, Xi’an Jiaotong University, Xi’an, China
  • seit 2012 Advisory Board, „Computational Materials Science and Engineering“
  • seit 2011 Advisory Board, „Acta Mechanica Sinica“
  • seit 2009 Editor, „International Journal of Applied Mechanics“
  • 2008-2013 Board of Associate Editors, „Cellular and Molecular Bioengineering“, Biomedical Engineering Society
  • seit 2006 Editor-in-Chief, „Journal of the Mechanics and Physics of Solids“
  • 2006-2007 Associate Editor, „Communications in Computational Physics“
  • 2005-2011 Editorial Board, „International Journal of Solids and Structures“
  • seit 2004 Editorial Board, „Molecular & Cellular Biomechanics“
  • seit 2004 Regional Editor, „International Journal of Fracture“
  • seit 2004 Editorial Board, „Journal of Computational & Theoretical Nanoscience“
  • seit 2004 Editorial Board, „Journal of Nanoengineering and Nanosystems“
  • 2004-2012 Board of Directors, Society of Engineering Science
  • 2004-2006 Chief Editor, „Continuum Mechanics and Thermodynamics“
  • seit 2003 Editorial Board, „Acta Metallurgica Sinica“
  • 2003-2005 Overseas Director, Shenyang Center for Interfacial Materials, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • 2001-2011 Editor-in-Chief, „Acta Mechanica Sinica“
  • 2000-2006 Associate Editor, „Journal of Applied Mechanics“
  • seit 1998 Editorial Board, „Modeling and Simulation in Materials Science and Engineering“
  • 1997 Acting Editor-in-Chief, „International Journal of Solids and Structures“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • seit 2017 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2017 Theodore von Karman Medal, Engineering Mechanics Institute, American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
  • 2016-2017 Distinguished Visiting Chair Professor Scheme, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China
  • 2015 Elected Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • 2015 Nadai Medal, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • 2015  William Prager Medal, Society of Engineering Science
  • 2012 Elected Member, National Academy of Engineering, USA
  • 2012 Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics, International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics
  • 2012 Forschungspreis der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
  • 2011 Ehrenprofessur, Shanghai University, Shanghai, China
  • 2011 ASME Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award
  • 2011 Ehrenprofessur, Xi’an Jiaotong University, Xi’an, China
  • 2009 ASME Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • 2007-2012 Visiting Investigator Programme (VIP) Award, A*STAR (Agency for Science, Technology and Research), Singapore, Malaysia
  • 2005 Stifterverbandspreis, Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft und Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
  • 2005 Young Investigator Award, Society of Engineering Science
  • 2004 Elected Fellow, Institute of Physics, UK
  • 2004 ASME Melville Medal, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • 2003 Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • 2000 Outstanding Oversea Young Investigator Award, National Science Foundation of China
  • 2000-2005 Chang Jiang Chair Visiting Professor, Tsinghua University, Peking, China
  • 1999 Young Investigator Award, Applied Mechanics Division, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • 1997 Forschungsstipendium, Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung
  • 1996 Alcoa Science Award, Alcoa Inc.
  • 1995 NSF Young Investigator Award, National Science Foundation, USA
  • 1993-1998 Guggenheim Fellowship, John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
  • 1992-1993 IBM Faculty Development Award, IBM Inc.
  • 1988 Schlumberger Research Fellowship, Schlumberger Inc.
  • 1984 Harvard Graduate Fellowship, Harvard University
  • 1979-1982 „SAN HAO XUE SHENG“' medal, Xi’an Jiaotong University, Xi’an, China




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org