Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier

Year of election: 2001
Section: Earth Sciences
City: Braunschweig
Country: Germany
CV Karl-Heinz Glaßmeier - Deutsch (pdf)


Main scientific interest: Extraterrestrial Plasma physics, Magnetospheric Physics, Planetary Magnetic Fields, Physics of Comets, Time Series Analysis


  • since 1991 Professor, University of Braunschweig, Germany
  • 1990-1991 Hochschuldozent, University of Cologne, Germany
  • 1985-1990 Senior Scientist, University of Cologne, Germany
  • 1989 Habilitation, University of Cologne, Germany
  • 1981-1985 Research Scientist, University of Münster, Germany
  • 1985 Ph.D., University of Münster, Germany
  • 1979-1980 Social Service at the Medical University Clinic Münster , Germany
  • 1973-1979 Studies at the University of Münster, Germany


  • 2005-2022 Principal Investigator of the Magnetometerexperiment of the BepiColombo Mission to Planet Mercury
  • 2002-2016 Lead Investigator of the Magnetometerexperiment of the NASA THEMIS-Mission
  • 1999-2006 Coordinator of the Priority Programme “Earth Magnetic Variations: Space-Time Structure, Processes and Effects on System Earth” of the German Science Foundation
  • 1997-2016 Principal Investigator of the Magnetometerexperiment of the ROSETTA Mission to Comet Churyumov / Gerasimenko


  • 2010-2014 National Delegate to COSPAR and Member of the COSPAR Bureau
  • 2004-2008 Member of the Fachkollegium “Geophysik und Geodäsie” of the German Science Foundation
  • 2004-2008 Member of the Science Advisory Board of the International Space Science Institute, Bern
  • 2002-2006 Member of the Advisory Board of the “Gesellschaft Deutscher Naturforscher und Ärzte”
  • 1999-2001 Chairman of the Science Advisory Board and Member of the Board of Trustees of the GeoForschungsZentrum, Potsdam, Germany
  • since 1998 Member of the Advisory Board „Basic Space Science“ of the German Aerospace Center DLR
  • 1991-1994 Member of the Solar System Working Group of the European Space Agency

Honours and Memberships

  • 2014 Basic Science Award of the International Academy of Astronautics
  • 2010 Julius Bartels Medal, European Geoscience Union
  • 2009 Member, International Academy of Astronautics
  • 2008 Member, Academia Europaea
  • 2004 Corresponding Member, Austrian Academy of Science
  • 2001 External Scientific Member, Max-Planck Society, Germany
  • 2001 Member, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, Germany
  • 1995 Member Braunschweigische Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft, Germany
  • 1991 Werner-Heisenberg Stipend, German Science Foundation
  • 1990 Ya. B. Zeldovich Medal, Committee on Space Research (COSPAR) of the International Council of Scientific Unions and the Russian Academy of Science




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org