Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Mathias Bähr

Year of election: 2005
Section: Neurosciences
City: Göttingen
Country: Germany
CV Mathias Bähr - Deutsch (PDF)
CV Mathias Bähr - English (PDF)


Besides his clinical expertise Mathias Bähr is internationally well known for his contributions to basic neuroscience research fields like neuroprotection and neuroregeneration.

In his more than 200 original publications in leading international journals in the field he has described in detail the cellular and molecular basis of neurodegeneration in animal models of stroke, multiple sclerosis and parkinson’s disease and developed new experimental therapeutic approaches, some of which have already entered clinical phase testing.

He is currently one of the speakers of the DFG Research Center ‘Molecular Physiology of the Brain (CMPB)’ and the Excellence Cluster Center for Nanoscale Microscopy and Molecular Physiology of the Brain (CNMPB) at the Göttingen research campus.


  • since 2001 Head of the Department of Neurology, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • 1996-2001 Associate Professor, Schilling-Foundation Professorship, University Hospital Tübingen, Germany
  • 1994-1996 Senior resident, Assistant Professor and Lecturer, Department of Neurology, University of Tübingen, Germany
  • 1993 Habilitation, University Tübingen, Germany
  • 1989-1993 Resident, Department of Neurology, University of Tübingen, Germany
  • 1988-1989 Max Planck Fellowship, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology Washington University St. Louis, USA
  • 1987-1990 Post-doctoral Fellowship, Max Planck Institute for Developmental Neurobiology, Germany (Prof. F. Bonhoeffer)
  • 1986 Ph.D., Department of Neuropathology, Medical School, University of Tübingen, Germany
  • 1985 M.D., Medical School, University of Tübingen, Germany
  • 1979-1985 Medical student at the University of Tübingen, Germany


  • Coordinator of the division 'Aggregation-Disorders', Excellence Cluster CNMBP
  • since 2008 Coordinator of an EU-Project “Advanced gene therapy tools for treatment of CNS specific disorders” (NEUGENE)


  • since 2009 First speaker of the “Center of Molecular Physiology of the Brain – CMPB”
  • since 2008 Member of the Academy of Sciences and Humanities Göttingen, Germany
  • since 2007 Member Board of the German-Israeli-Foundation (GIF)
  • since 2007 Fellow of the Royal Academy of Physicians, London, UK
  • 2007 President of the German Society for Neurosciences
  • since 2006 Board Member of the Gertrud Reemtsma-Foundation
  • since 2005 Elected Member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • since 2002 Member of the National Ethics Committee on Stem Cell Research in Germany
  • since 2001 Member of the Board of Directors, European Neuroscience Institute

Honors and Memberships

  • 1998 Heinrich-Pette-Award, German Society for Neurology
  • 1996 Hermann and Lilly Schilling-Foundation Professorship
  • 1995 Award of the Kuratorium CNS and the Hannelore Kohl Foundation
  • 1995 Young Investigator Award, Ministry of Science, Research and Art
  • 1994 Attempto Award, University of Tübingen, Germany




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.