Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Wolfgang Baumeister

Year of election: 2001
Section: Biochemistry and Biophysics
City: Martinsried
Country: Germany
CV Wolfgang Baumeister - English (pdf)


Hauptarbeitsgebiete: Strukturbiologie (Automatisierte Elektronentomographie, Bildverarbeitung, Scanning-Mikroskopie); Struktur und Funktion des Proteasoms und Thermosoms; Untersuchungen makromolekularer Komplexe, welche die Selbstorganisation von Proteinen im Sinne des „Partitioning“ zwischen korrekter Faltung und Degradation von Polypeptidketten regulieren (dem GroE-System in Escherichia coli vergleichbare molekulare Chaperone vom Typ des Proteasoms aus Prokaryoten, z. B. Thermoplasma acidophilum, und Eukaryoten, z. B. Rhodococcus, Thermosomen aus (Hyper-)Thermophilen, wie z. B. Pyrodictium spec., archaeale Tricorn-Protease); Untersuchung der ATPasen der AAA-Familie; bakterielle Membranproteine; Genom- und Proteom-Analyse von Thermoplasma acidophilum


  • since 2000 Honorary Professor, Faculty of Physics, Technical University, Munich, Germany
  • since 1988 Director, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Head of Department of Structural Biology, Martinsried, Germany
  • since 1987 Professor (apl.), Faculty of Chemistry, Technical University, Munich, Germany
  • 1984-1987 Professor (apl.), University of Düsseldorf, Germany
  • 1983-1987 Group Leader (C3), Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany
  • 1978 Habilitation; venia legendi in Biophysics
  • 1973-1980 Research Associate, Dept. of Biophysics, University of Düsseldorf, Germany
  • 1970-1973 Ph.D., University of Düsseldorf, Germany
  • 1967-1969 University of Bonn (Biology, Chemistry, Physics), Germany
  • 1966-1967 University of Münster (Biology, Chemistry, Physics), Germany


  • since 2010 Honorary Board Member of the Journal of Electron Microscopy
  • since 2008 Co-editor: Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Elsevier
  • since 2006 Editor: Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications
  • since 2005 Editorial Board Member: Journal of Microscopy
  • since 2003 Editorial Board Member: Trends in Cell Biology
  • since 2003 Editor-in-chief: Journal of Structural Biology
  • 2002-2010 Editorial Board Member: Current Biology


  • since 2012 Chair of the Council of  the ESFR project INSTRUCT
  • since 2008 Scientific Advisory Board of the Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Research Facility (AMMRF)
  • 2007-2011 Executive Council of the Protein Society, USA
  • since 2006 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Centro Nacional de Biotecnologia, University of Madrid, Spain
  • 2006-2009 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Biozentrum, University of Basel, Switzerland
  • since 2005 Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board, Venetian Institute of Molecular Medicine, Padua, Italy
  • since 2005 Member of Scientific Advisory Board, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Manchester, UK
  • 2003-2012 Board Member of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), Physical and Biophysical Chemistry Division
  • 2002-2010 Member of the Executive Committee of the International Federation of Microscopy Societies (IFSM)
  • 2002-2010 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the NCCR Nanoscale Science, Switzerland
  • 2000-2009 Member of the Research Council of the Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland
  • 2000-2008 Elected Biochemistry/Biophysics Board Member of the German Research Council (DFG)
  • 2000-2004 Board Member of the Molecular and Cellular Medicine Board of the Medical Research Council (MRC), London, UK
  • 1994-2000 Member of the Expert Group “Nano Sciences” of the Swiss National Science Foundation
  • 1992-1998 President of the Committee of European Microscopy Societies (now: European Microscopy Society)
  • 1991-1998 Coordinator of the Priority Program “New Microscopic Techniques for Biology and Medicine” of the German Research Council (DFG)
  • 1983-1991 Member of the Council of the German Society for Electron Microscopy (DGE); President of the Society 1988/1989

Honours and Memberships

  • 2011 Medal of the City of Padua, Italy
  • 2010 Foreign Associate US National Academy of Sciences
  • 2010 J. M. Cowley Medal, International Federation of Microscopy Societies, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  • 2008 Biochemical Analysis Prize, German United Society of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (DGKL)
  • 2008 Bijvoet Medal, University of Utrecht, Netherlands
  • 2008 Carl Zeiss Lecture and Prize, German Society for Cell Biology
  • 2006 Ernst Schering Prize, Schering Foundation, Berlin, Germany
  • 2005 Harvey Prize in Science and Technology, Technion Haifa, Israel
  • 2005 Medal of the Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic
  • 2005 Schleiden Medal, German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2004 Felix Hoppe Seyler Lecture and Award (German Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology)
  • 2004 Stein and Moore Award, Protein Society, USA
  • 2003 I. and H. Wachter Prize, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • 2003 Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine, Geneva, Switzerland
  • 2002 Datta Lecture and Medal, FEBS, Istanbul, Turkey
  • 2002 Foreign Honorary Member, American Academy of Arts & Sciences
  • 2001 Karl Heinz Beckurts Prize, Beckurts Foundation, Germany
  • 2001 Member, German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2001 Prix de la Fondation Scientifique Fourmentin-Guilbert, France
  • 2001 Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology
  • 2001 Prize of the Feldberg Foundation
  • since 2000 Moore Distinguished Scholar, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, USA
  • 2000 Max Planck Research Award
  • 2000 Fellow, Bavarian Academy of Sciences, Germany
  • 1998 Otto Warburg Medal, German Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • 1988 EMBO Member
  • 1982 Ernst Ruska Prize  
  • 1981-1982 Heisenberg Fellowship (DFG), Cavendish Lab., University of Cambridge, UK




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org