Leopoldina Home Menü

Leopoldina Home

Fellowship Program

Former Leopoldina Research Fellows

Of the former Leopoldina research fellows, more than 40 are now employed as professors or junior professors, at least 15 are associate or assistant professors or lecturers, more than 20 are working as private or university lecturers (with completed habilitations) and more than 20 are leading young research groups.

In addition, former research fellows have taken up positions as senior physicians in hospitals and at R&D departments in the industry. Excellent Leopoldina scholarship holders thus increasingly occupy attractive and advanced positions in the German scientific and research community, thereby demonstrating the success of the funding program. Below are a few selected examples of former Leopoldina scholarship holders who have been able to fill longer-term or further qualifying positions in recent years:

  • Dr Ulrich Brose, private lecturer at the Technische Universität Darmstadt: Leopoldina research fellow from 2001 to 2004; appointed as Heisenberg-W3 professorship for systemic conservation biology in Göttingen
  • Dr Holger Brüggemann: Leopoldina research fellow from 2004 to 2007; worked at the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology in Berlin; professor for molecular microbiology in the Department of Biomedicine at Aarhus University, Denmark since 1 September 2011
  • Dr Tobias Donner: Leopoldina research fellow from 2006 to 2008; appointed Assistant Professor in Brain & Cognition (tenure) in the Department of Psychology at the University of Amsterdam in the Netherlands
  • Dr Frank Heppner: Leopoldina research fellow in 2003; appointed Professor and Head of the Institute of Neuropathology at Berlin’s Charité university hospital in 2007; previously senior physician at the Institute of Neuropathology in Zurich
  • Dr Gregor Jung: Leopoldina research fellow from 2002 to 2003; promoted from Junior Professor to Professor of Biophysical Chemistry at Saarland University in 2010
  • Dr Harald Langer: Leopoldina research fellow from 2007 to 2008; awarded one of four Volkswagen Foundation Lichtenberg Professorships for a period of five years; works in the Department of Internal Medicine at the University Hospital in Tübingen; his research links immunological aspects with cardiology
  • Dr Britta Planer-Friedrich: Leopoldina research fellow from 2005 to 2007; appointed Junior Professor of Environmental Geometry at the University of Bayreuth in 2008 (this position is funded by the German Research Foundation’s Emmy Noether Programme and has now been established as a professorship)
  • Dr Dirk Schuricht of the RWTH Aachen Institute for Theoretical Physics: Leopoldina research fellow from 2006 to 2008 in Oxford; successfully submitted an application to the German Research Foundation (DFG) to set up an Emmy Noether Junior Research Group, which started work in October 2010
  • Dr Christine Selhuber-Unkel: Leopoldina research fellow from 2007 to 2009; has led an Emmy Noether Junior Research Group at Kiel University since June 2010; appointed Junior Professor at Kiel University’s Institute for Materials Science in the Department of Biocompatible Nanomaterials
  • Dr Tania Singer: Leopoldina research fellow from 2003 to 2005; appointed head of the Department of Social Neurosciences at the Max Planck Institute for Cognitive Neurosciences in Leipzig; also appointed Honorary Professor of the Faculty of Biosciences, Pharmacy and Psychology at Leipzig University and at Humboldt Universität Berlin
  • Dr Dieter Spiteller: Leopoldina research fellow from 2003 to 2005; was at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena; appointed Professor of Chemical Ecology and Biological Chemistry at the University of Konstanz in April 2011
  • Dr Maren von Köckritz-Blickwede: Leopoldina research fellow from 2008 to 2010; appointed academic counsellor and head of the Biochemistry of Infection research group at University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover’s Institute of Physiological Chemistry, which is part of the Zentrum für Infektionsmedizin
  • Dr Julian Widder, private lecturer: Leopoldina research fellow from 2003 to 2005; appointed senior physician at Hannover Medical School’s Department of Cardiology and Angiology; previously at the University of Würzburg’s Medical Clinic and Polyclinic I
  • Dr Elisabeth Zeisberg: Leopoldina research fellow from 2004 to 2005; at Harvard Medical School in Boston; appointed W2 Temporary Professor (tenure track) of Cardiac Stroma in Göttingen



PD Dr. Andreas Clausing

Coordinator of the Fellowship Programme

Phone 0345 47 239 - 150
Fax 0345 47 239 - 139
E-Mail andreas.clausing (at)leopoldina.org