Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Andreas Voßkuhle

Year of election: 2018
Section: Cultural Sciences
City: Freiburg (Br.)
Country: Germany
Andreas Voßkuhle erhält Großkreuz des Verdienstordens
CV Andreas Voßkuhle – Deutsch (PDF)


Andreas Voßkuhle is a German public law professor. Since 1999, he holds a chair for public law at the Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg and serves as director of the department I (Staatswissenschaft) of the Institute for Staatswissenschaft and Legal Philosophy. In May 2008, he was elected as judge and Vice-President of the German Federal Constitutional Court. From May 2010 to June 2020, he serves as its President.

His academic interests lie in the areas of constitutional law, administrative law, public commercial law, environmental law as well as legal theory. He is renowned, inter alia, as the co-author of a standard treatise on environmental law, as a commentator of the key provisions of the Grundgesetz on the Federal Constitutional Court and as co-founder of the so-called Neue Verwaltungsrechtswissenschaft which aims to advance the current administrative legal studies from a science of interpretive application to a science focussing on legislative means and decisions.


  • 2010-2020 Präsident des Bundesverfassungsgerichts
  • März 2010 Ernennung zum Präsidenten des Bundesverfassungsgerichts
  • Mai 2008 Ernennung zum Vizepräsidenten des Bundesverfassungsgerichts und zum Vorsitzenden des Zweiten Senats
  • Mai 2008 Ernennung zum Richter des Bundesverfassungsgerichts
  • 2007 Wahl zum Rektor der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Amtsantritt 2008
  • 2006-2007 Fellow am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin
  • 2006-2007 Mitglied des Universitätsrats, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • 2004-2006 Dekan der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • 2004 Ablehnung eines Rufes an die Universität Hamburg
  • 2000-2002 Studiendekan der Rechtswissenschaftlichen Fakultät, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • 1999-2008 Direktor des Instituts für Staatswissenschaft und Rechtsphilosophie, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • 1999 Ernennung zum Universitätsprofessor, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
  • 1998 Habilitation, Universität Augsburg
  • 1995 Referent im Bayerischen Staatsministerium des Innern, für Sport und Integration
  • 1993 Zweites Staatsexamen
  • 1992-1994 Wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Lehrstuhl für Öffentliches Recht, Wirtschaftsverwaltungsrecht und Umweltrecht, Universität Augsburg
  • 1992 Promotion, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
  • 1989 Erstes Staatsexamen
  • 1983-1989 Studium der Rechtswissenschaft, Universität Bayreuth und Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München


  • seit 2015 Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung
  • seit 2012 Mitglied des Senats der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft
  • Mitherausgeber der Fachzeitschriften „Der Staat“, „Juristische Schulung“, „Gewerbearchiv“, „Kritische Vierteljahreszeitschrift für Gesetzgebung und Rechtsprechung“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2020 Großkreuz des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
  • seit 2018 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • seit 2017 Honorary Bencher of the Honorable Society of King’s Inns
  • 2017 Ehrendoktorwürde der Aristoteles-Universität Thessaloniki, Griechenland
  • 2017 Verleihung des Großen Goldenen Ehrenzeichens am Bande der Republik Österreich
  • 2014 Cicero-Rednerpreis
  • seit 2007 Ordentliches Mitglied der Sozialwissenschaftlichen Klasse der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2006 Fellow des Wissenschaftskollegs zu Berlin
  • 2003 FORSI-Wissenschaftspreis
  • 1995 Zehetmair Preis
  • 1992 Fakultätspreis für die beste Promotion durch die Rechtswissenschaftliche Fakultät der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org