Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Armin Falk

Year of election: 2009
Section: Economics and Empirical Social Sciences
City: Bonn
Country: Germany
CV Armin Falk - Deutsch (PDF)
CV Armin Falk - English (PDF)


Main Research Interests: Behavioral Economics, Neuroeconomics, Experimental Economics, Labour Economics

Armin Falk’s research aims on a better empirical foundation of the economic behaviour model. This is important for basic research as well as from an economic and sociopolitical point of view. His research is highly interdisciplinary and applies insights from experimental economic research, sociopsychology, genetics and neurosciences. His methods focus on field and laboratory experiments, complemented by mathematical models, methods of character genetics and functional magnetic resonance tomography.

Another resaerch focus is the analysis of representative questionnaire data. Falk investigates economical preferences as well as psychological aspects of the labour market.


  • since 2016 Director of the Institute on Behavior and Inequality Research (briq)
  • 2009-2016 Director of the Center for Economics and Neuroscience, University of Bonn, Germany
  • since 2004 Director of the Bonn Laboratory for Experimental Economics, Germany
  • since 2003 Professor of Economics at University of Bonn, Germany
  • 2003-2005 Lecturer, Central European University, Budapest, Hungary
  • 2003 Habilitation and Venia legendi at the University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • since 2000 Fellow at the Institute for Economic Research (CESifo)
  • since 1999 Research Fellow in the Labour Economics Programme of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR)
  • 1999 Ph.D. in Economics, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • 1998-2003 Assistant Professor, Institute for Empirical Research in Economics, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • 1989-1994 Studies of Economics at the University of Cologne, “Diplom-Volkswirt”, Germany


  • since 2013 IP Leader, Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET)
  • since 2009 External Scientific Member of the Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods
  • since 2009 Member of the academic advisory council at the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology
  • since 2007 Program Director of the Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA)
  • since 2006 Research Professor at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW)
  • 2003-2007 Research Director at IZA


  • 2008-2011 Collaborative research centres Transregio 15 “Governance und die Effizienz ökonomischer Systeme“

Honours and Memberships

  • 2017 Research Grant of the Benckiser Stiftung Zukunft
  • 2015 European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant
  • 2015 Research Grant of the Benckiser Stiftung Zukunf
  • 2014 Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher
  • 2013 SOEP Prize for the Best Scientific Publication (with Anke Becker, Thomas Deckers, Thomas Dohmen and Fabian Kosse)
  • 2011 Award of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, founded by the Commerzbank Foundation
  • 2011 Yrjö Jahnsson Award in Economics of the Yrjö Jahnsson Foundation and the European Economic Association
  • since 2010 European Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • since 2010 German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • since 2009 North Rhine-Westphalia Academy for Sciences and Arts
  • 2009 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Award of the German Science Foundation (DFG)
  • 2008 Gossen Award of the Verein für Socialpolitik
  • 2008 Grant of the Volkswagen Stiftung for workshop on “Behavioral labor economics”
  • 2008 Post-doc grant of the Volkswagen Stiftung for 2 years
  • 2008 European Research Council (ERC) Starting Independent Researcher Grants; Five-year grant
  • 2008-2011 Collaborative research centers Transregio 15 “Governance und die Effizienz ökonomischer Systeme “
  • since 2007 Fellow of the European Economic Association
  • 2006 John T. Dunlop Outstanding Scholar Award of the Labor and Employment Relations Association
  • since 2004 DFG Project “Workfare or Welfare: Incentives and Acceptance“
  • 2004 CESifo Prize in Public Economics: Distinguished CESifo Affiliate for the scientific originality, policy relevance and quality of the paper
  • 2003 Research Grant by University of Zurich, Switzerland (Title: Determinants of Social Capital)
  • 2002 Best lecturer of the economics department at the students’ election of the Faculty’s Professor of the Year 2002
  • 1999 Winner of the Prize of the Institute for Empirical Research in Economics for the Best Publication of an Economist of Age Below 35




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org