Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Jean-Marie Lehn

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1987

Year of election: 1985
Section: Chemistry
City: Strasbourg
Country: France
CV Jean-Marie Lehn - Deutsch (PDF)


Jean-Marie Lehn was born in Rosheim, France in 1939. In 1970 he became Professor of Chemistry at the Université Louis Pasteur in Strasbourg and since 1979 he is Professor at the Collège de France in Paris. He shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1987 for his studies on the chemical basis of “molecular recognition” (i.e. the way in which a receptor molecule recognizes and selectively binds a substrate), which also plays a fundamental role in biological processes.

Over the years his work led to the definition of a new field of chemistry, which he has proposed calling “supramolecular chemistry” as it deals with the complex entities formed by the association of two or more chemical species held together by non-covalent intermolecular forces, whereas molecular chemistry concerns the entities constructed from atoms linked by covalent bonds. Subsequently, the area developed into the chemistry of "self-organization" processes and more recently into "constitutional dynamic chemistry".


  • Direktor Institut de Science et d'Ingénierie Supramoléculaires (ISIS), Universität Straßburg  
  • Direktor Laboratoire de Chimie Supramoléculaire am ISIS, Universität Straßburg
  • 2005 Adjunct Professor am Asian Institute of Technology, Bangkok, Thailand
  • 2000-2004 Direktor Institut de Science et d'Ingénierie Supramoléculaires (ISIS), Universität Straßburg
  • 1999-2000 Newton Abraham Professor, Lincoln College, Oxford University, GB
  • seit 1998 Direktor am Nanotechnologie-Institut des Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
  • 1997 / 2000 Robert Burns Woodward Visiting Professor, Harvard University, USA
  • 1989 Heinrich Hertz-Gastprofessor, Universität Karlsruhe  
  • 1985-1986 Rolf Sammet-Gastprofessor, Johann-Wolfgang Goethe Universität Frankfurt/Main
  • 1985 Visiting Professor, University of Barcelona, Spanien
  • 1984 Alexander Todd Visiting Professor of Chemistry, Cambridge University, GB
  • seit 1979 Professor für molekulare Wechselwirkungen, Collège de France, Paris, Frankreich
  • 1977 Visiting Professor für Chemie, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, Schweiz
  • 1972/ 1974-1980 Visiting Professor of Chemistry at Harvard University, USA
  • 1970-1979 Professor für Chemie, Universität Louis Pasteur, Straßburg, Frankreich
  • 1966-1969 Assistenzprofessor für Chemie, Universität Louis Pasteur, Straßburg, Frankreich
  • 1963-1964 Post-Doctoral Research Fellow, Harvard University
  • 1966 Mitglied des Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Paris, Frankreich
  • 1963 Ph.D., Universität Strasburg, Frankreich
  • 1960-1963 Studium “Conformational Studies of Triperpenes“, Universität Straßburg
  • 1960 Bachelor of Sciences, Universität Straßburg, Frankreich


  • Mitglied im Kuratorium der Aventis Foundation
  • Mitglied im Advisory Board Reliance Innovation Council, Mumbai, Indien
  • Mitglied im Advisory Board Novartis Venture Fund
  • 2010-2011 Mitglied im Verwaltungsrat von Sanofi-Aventis
  • 1997-1999 Mitglied im Aufsichtsrat der Hoechst AG, Frankfurt
  • 1992 Vorsitz des Wissenschaftsrates des Unternehmens Rhône-Poulenc
  • bis 2009 Mitglied im Verwaltungsrat von Ciba Specialty Chemicals
  • bis 1996 Mitglied im Verwaltungsrat von Ciba-Geigy
  • Lehn ist Mitbegründer verschiedener Firmen.

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2014 Grand Officier de l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur
  • 2005 Ehrenmitglied der Société Française de Chimie
  • 2004 Médaille d’Or zum 70jährigen Jubiläum der Fondation de la Maison de la Chimie
  • 2004 Grand Officer of the Order of Cultural Merit of Romania
  • 2003 Ehrenmitglied der World Innovation Foundation
  • 2003 Goldmedaille “Giulio Natta” der Italian Chemical Society
  • 2002 Ehrenmitglied der Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ)
  • 2001 Österreichisches Ehrenkreuz für Wissenschaft und Kunst, Erste Klasse
  • 1997 Lavoisier-Médaille der Société Française de Chimie
  • 1997 Ehrenmitglied der Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
  • 1997 The Davy Medal of the Royal Society
  • 1996 Commandeur de l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur
  • 1996 Ausländisches Mitglied der Third World Academy of Sciences
  • 1995 Goldene Gedächtnis-Medaille der Naturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät, Karls-Universität Prag
  • 1995 Goldmedaille der Comenius-Universität Bratislava
  • 1995 Médaille d’Or der Société Académique Arts-Sciences-Lettres
  • 1994 “Ettore Majorana-Erice-Science for Peace”-Preis
  • 1993 Officier dans l'Ordre National du Mérite
  • 1993 Ausländisches Mitglied der Royal Society, London
  • 1990 Mitglied des Ordens „Pour le Mérite für Wissenschaften und Künste“
  • 1990 Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Göttingen
  • 1990 Assoziiertes Mitglied der Königlich Flämischen Akademie Belgiens für Wissenschaften und Künste, Brüssel, Belgien
  • 1989 Karl Ziegler-Preis der Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker
  • 1989 Médaille d’Or der Société d'Encouragement au Progrès
  • 1989 Minnie Rosen Award
  • 1989 Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Palmes Académiques
  • 1988 Officier de l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur
  • 1987 Nobelpreis für Chemie, gemeinsam mit Donald Cram und Charles Pedersen
  • 1987 Ausländisches Mitglied der American Philosophical Society
  • 1987 George Kenner Prize, University of Liverpool
  • 1986 Preis der Fondation Alsace
  • 1983 Ausländisches Mitglied der Königlich Niederländischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, Amsterdam, Niederlande
  • 1983 Alexander von Humboldt-Forschungspreis
  • 1983 Chevalier de l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur
  • 1981 Pierre Bruylants Medal, Louvain
  • 1981 Gold Medal of the CNRS
  • 1981 Médaille d’Or der Académie Pontificale des Sciences
  • 1980 Ausländisches Mitglied der National Academy of Sciences, Washington, USA
  • 1980 Ausländisches Ehrenmitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences, USA
  • 1978 Prix Raymond Berr der Société Chimique de France
  • 1976 Chevalier dans l'Ordre National du Mérite
  • 1972 Silver Medal of the CNRS
  • 1968 Prix Adrian der Société Chimique de France
  • 1963 Bronze Medal of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Paris
  • Jean-Marie Lehn ist Träger zahlreicher Ehrendoktortitel und Ehrenmitglied in weiteren wissenschaftlichen Vereinigungen und Wissenschaftsakademien weltweit.




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.