Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Katja Becker

Year of election: 2009
Section: Microbiology and Immunology
City: Giessen
Country: Germany
CV Katja Becker - Deutsch (pdf)


Katja Becker distinguished herself through her contributions in the fields of protein biochemistry and cellular redox metabolism. Her studies were mainly carried out at the Universities of Heidelberg, Würzburg, and Giessen. Since 2000 she has held a chair in biochemistry at the Interdisciplinary Research Center, Giessen University.

Her most important scientific work comprises the characterization of cellular redox networks in man, the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster, and the malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum. The functional and structural description of the proteins studied represents a central basis for the development of new drugs against cancer and infectious diseases. Understanding the interactions between redox-active proteins furthermore allows for inferences about physiological and pathophysiological regulatory and signal transduction processes.


  • seit 2020 Präsidentin der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • 2005-2006 Forschungsaufenthalt am Scripps Research Institute, Proteomic Mass Spectrometry Lab, La Jolla, USA
  • seit 2000 Professorin für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
  • 1999-2000 Nachwuchsgruppenleiterin am Zentrum für Infektionsforschung der Universität Würzburg
  • 1999 Oberassistentin am Biochemiezentrum der Universität Heidelberg
  • 1998 Facharztprüfung
  • 1996 Habilitation im Fach Biochemie
  • 1994 Forschungsaufenthalt Pathologie, Sydney University, Australien
  • 1993-1999 Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Biochemiezentrum der Universität Heidelberg
  • 1993 Approbation
  • 1992-1993 Ärztin im Praktikum an der Universitäts-Kinderklinik Heidelberg, klinische und wissenschaftliche Arbeiten in Nigeria und Ghana
  • 1988-1991 Klinische und wissenschaftliche Arbeiten in Sydney, Katherine (Royal Flying Doctor Service, Australien), Basel und Oxford
  • 1988 Promotion in Biochemie an der Universität Heidelberg, Deutschland
  • 1984-1991 Studium der Medizin, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg


  • Sprecherin des LOEWE-Zentrums DRUID „Novel Drug Targets against Poverty-related and Neglected Tropical Infectious Diseases“ im Rahmen der Hessischen Landesoffensive zur Förderung wissenschaftlich-ökonomischer Exzellenz (LOEWE)
  • seit 2014 Sprecherin, DFG-Schwerpunktprogramm SPP 1710: „Dynamics of Thiol-based Redox Switches in Cellular Physiology“
  • seit 2014 DFG-Projekt „Das Glutathion-Redoxsystem als Thiol-Switch Operator in Plasmodium falciparum“, Teilprojekt zu SPP 1710:  „Dynamics of Thiol-based Redox Switches in Cellular Physiology
  • 2000-2014 DFG-Projekt „Human thioredoxin Reductases: Selenoproteins as Potential Drug Targets”, Teilprojekt zu SPP 1087:  „Selenoproteine - Biochemische Grundlagen und klinische Bedeutung“
  • 2001-2008 DFG-Projekt „Zellulärer Redoxmetabolismus bei Malaria tropica“, Teilprojekt zu SFB 535:  „Invasionsmechanismen und Replikationsstrategien von Krankheitserregern“
  • 1999-2000 DFG-Projekt „Zellulärer Redoxmetabolismus bei Malaria tropica“, Teilprojekt zu SFB 544: „Kontrolle tropischer Infektionskrankheiten“


  • 2015-2017 Deutsche Abgeordnete im Scientific Committee des COST-Programms, Brüssel
  • seit 2014 Vize-Präsidentin der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
  • seit 2013 Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Kerckhoff Herzforschungsinstituts Bad Nauheim
  • seit 2010 Mentorin für junge Akademikerinnen bei ProProfessur und SciMento
  • 2009-2012 Vizepräsidentin für Forschung, Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
  • seit 2007 Sprecherin der Sektion „Bioressourcen und Biotechnologie“ des Gießener Graduate Center for the Life Sciences
  • seit 2007 Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Zentrums für Internationale Entwicklungs- und Umweltforschung
  • seit 2005 Aufbau des Graduate Course „Applied Life Sciences“ am Interdisziplinären Forschungszentrum, Universität Gießen
  • 2004-2005 Sprecherin des Interdisziplinären Forschungszentrums der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • 2010 Leuckart-Medaille der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Parasitologie
  • seit 2009 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2003 Carus-Medaille der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina – Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften
  • 2000-2005 Mitglied der Jungen Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina
  • 1994 Boehringer Mannheim-Forschungsstipendium
  • 1989 Ludolf-Krehl-Preis der Süddeutschen Gesellschaft für Innere Medizin






Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org