Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Lorenz S. Cederbaum

Year of election: 2015
Section: Chemistry
City: Heidelberg
Country: Germany
CV Lorenz S. Cederbaum - Deutsch (pdf)


Since the very beginning of his academic career, Lorenz Cederbaum felt attracted by different scientific disciplines. He studied physics at the University of Munich, where he completed his diploma work in an experimental group. For his PhD studies, he moved to the Chemistry Department of the Technical University of Munich. Due to his strong interest in theory, he then decided to acquire deeper knowledge of theoretical methods and concepts and therefore joined the Theoretical Physics department there. Recognized as an outstanding young scientist, he was offered a tenured associate professor position in Theoretical Physics at the University of Freiburg before completing his Habilitation. He accepted this position and moved to Freiburg at the age of 29 after passing his Habilitation,. Soon afterwards, he decided to return to chemistry and accepted an offer for a Chair of Theoretical Chemistry at the University of Heidelberg. He has held the Heidelberg Chair of Theoretical Chemistry until today.

Lorenz Cederbaum rarely joins mainstream research but prefers to open up new directions of research and predicts new basic phenomena. A prominent recent example is his theoretical prediction of an ultrafast energy transfer mechanism denoted Intermolecular Coulombic Decay (ICD) which has been verified by exciting experiments and has become a blooming field of research. To tackle non-standard problems, methods and tools are necessary which are often not available and must be developed. It is characteristic of Cederbaum and his group to start new scientific projects which require even the basic theory to be developed, along with the essential methods and tools - all the way up to applications to realistic systems.


  • 2013 Forschungsaufenthalt an der Berkeley Universität, USA
  • seit 2007 kooptiertes Mitglied der Fakultät für Physik und Astronomie, Ruprecht-Karls- Universität Heidelberg
  • 2002 Forschungsaufenthalt an der Harvard University
  • 1986 Forschungsaufenthalt an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem
  • seit 1979 Professor und Direktor am Physikalisch-Chemischen Institut der Universität Heidelberg
  • 1979 Forschungsaufenthalt an der Cornell University
  • 1976-1979 Professor für Physik an der Universität Freiburg
  • 1976 Habilitation in Physik
  • 1972 Promotion in Chemie an der Technischen Universität München
  • Studium der Physik an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München



  • seit 2015 DFG-Projekt „ Elektronische Zerfallskaskaden in Mikrosolvatationsclustern initiiert durch resonante Absorption der Röntenstrahlung “, Teilprojekt zu “Intermolecular and Interatomic Coulombic Decay“
  • seit 2013 DFG-Projekt „Vielbosonen Quantenzustände und Quantendynamik niedrigdimensionaler attraktiver Bosesysteme fern des Equilibriums“
  • seit 2012 DFG-Projekt “Interatomic Coulombic Decay following the resonant Auger effect”,  Teilprojekt zu “Intermolecular and Interatomic Coulombic Decay“
  • 2011-2015 DFG-Projekt „Laserinduzierte nichtadiabatische Prozesse in Molekülen: Theorie und Anwendungen“
  • 2011-2015 DFG-Projekt „Echtzeitdynamik von elektronischen Anregungen in Molekülen: Phänomene und Mechanismen“
  • seit 2009 ERC-Projekt  Intermolecular Coulombic decay and control of photoinduced processes in physics, chemistry, and biology”
  • seit 2009 DFG-Projekt „Augerelektronenspektroskopie als Untersuchungsmethode für Ionenpaarungs- und Protonierungseffekte in wässrigen Lösungen“
  • 2008-2013 DFG-Projekt “Photoinduced isomerization of the Photoactive Yellow Protein chromophore: a detailed theoretical investigation”
  • 2008-2011 DFG-Projekt „Quantenmanipulation von fermionischen Atomen und Molekülen auf Atomchips“ (Deutsch-Israelische Projektkooperation)
  • seit 2007 EU-Projekt “Dynamical and structural properties of linear water Clusters: Long range Proton Transport in an ordered Water Phase”
  • 2006-2015 DFG-Projekt “Multielectron wave-packet propagation for the investigation and manipulation of charge-migration processes and thereby emitted radiation”
  • 2006-2012 DFG-Projekt “Interacting bosons in external traps: Theory, computational methods and applications beyond standard mean-field”
  • 2006-2011 DFG-Projekt “Magnetically induced anions of rare gas clusters and polar molecules”
  • seit 2005 DFG-Projekt „Schwach gebundene und metastabile Anionen: Methodenentwicklung und Anwendungen“
  • 2005-2014 DFG-Projekt “Cluster models for solvation studied by core ionization”
  • 2005-2011 DFG-Projekt “Theory of interatomic (intermolecular) Coulombic decay in clusters”
  • seit 2004 German-Israeli Project Cooperation (DIP) der DFG
  • 2003-2007 DFG-Projekt „Korrelationsgetriebene Ladungsmigration in molekularen Ketten nach Ionisierung“
  • 2002-2008 DFG-Projekt “The role of the local environment in ultrafast non-adiabatic dynamics: primary events in the photocycle of the yellow protein”
  • 2001-2011 DFG-Projekt „Quantendynamische vollrelativistische Berechnung von Photoelektronenspektren neutraler und mehrfach negativ geladener Systeme mit schweren Elementen unter Berücksichtigung vibronischer Kopplungen“
  • 1997-2003 DFG-Projekt „Core-Loch-Abschirmung in chemisorbierten Systemen“
  • 1997-2002 DFG-Projekt „Kerndynamik zerfallender Zustände“
  • 1996-2003 DFG-Projekt „Kerndynamik bei der K-Schalen-Photoelektronen- und Anregungsspektroskopie von Molekülen“
  • 1994-2002 DFG-Projekts „Der Block-LANCZOS-Algorithmus in der Vielteilchentheorie: Entwicklung, Implementierung und Anwendungen“

Auszeichnungen und Mitgliedschaften

  • seit 2015 Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina
  • 2015 Distinguished Visiting Professor an der Universität Haifa (3-mal erneuert)
  • 2013 Senior CMOA Medal für außergewöhnliche wissenschaftliche Leistungen, Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
  • 2012 Ehrendoktorwürde des Technion, Israel Institute of Technology
  • 2009 Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Sofia, Bulgarien
  • Externes wissenschaftliches Mitglied des Max-Planck-Instituts für Kernphysik
  • Mitglied der International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science (IAQMS)





Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet – an initiative of the Robert Bosch Stiftung.