Leopoldina Home Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics.

New Search

Professor Dr

Roland Lill

Senator of the Section Biochemistry and Biophysics

Year of election: 2007
Section: Biochemistry and Biophysics
City: Marburg
Country: Germany


Mitochondria are organelles which synthesize ATP and heme for the eukaryotic cell. In 1999 we discovered that their essential and minimal function is the synthesis of iron-sulfur clusters and their insertion into apoproteins. Iron-sulfur clusters are inorganic protein cofactors with essential functions in electron transport, enzyme catalysis and the regulation of gene expression. Failure to assemble Fe/S proteins may lead to human disease. We study the molecular mechanisms underlying the assembly of these cofactors in the entire cell.




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv (at)leopoldina.org

Academia Net

Profiles of Leading Women Scientists on AcademiaNet.