Leopoldina Menü

Leopoldina Home


List of Members | Expert Search

Search among the members of the Leopoldina for experts in specific fields or research topics. After entering a name in the "Name" field, click on "Search" to go directly to a member profile. With the input and selection in the fields "City" and „Country", you can limit your search locally or regionally, or target specific sections of the Leopoldina. Alternatively or in combination a full-text search is possible for all member profiles - use the upper input field. The use of operators like AND, NOT or * is permitted in the full-text search. For example, you may search for "genetics" or "*genet*" to get results with "genetic" or "molecular genetics". For a new search please click on the following link or use the full-text search in the right column.

New Search

Prof. Dr.

Wolfgang Baumjohann

Member of the Presidium

Year of election: 2010
Section: Earth Sciences
City: Graz
Country: Austria
CV Wolfgang Baumjohann - Deutsch (pdf)
CV Wolfgang Baumjohann - English (pdf)


Major Scientific Interests: Space plasma physics, Planetary magnetospheres, Reconnection


  • since 2009 Professor, University of Technology, Graz, Austria
  • since 2004 Director, Space Research Institute, Graz, Austria
  • since 2001 Department Head, Space Research Institute, Graz, Austria
  • since 2000 Professor, University of Munich, Germany
  • 1993-2000 Lecturer, University of Munich, Germany
  • 1989-2000 Senior Scientist, MPI, Garching, Germany
  • 1984-1988 Heisenberg Fellow, MPI, Garching, Germany
  • 1975-1983 Research Associate, Institut für Geophysik, University of Münster, Germany
  • 1969-1975 Studies in Physics, University of Münster, Germany


  • since 2016 Member, Presidium of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2011-2016 Member, Senate of the Leopoldina
  • since 2010 Member, European Academies Science Advisory Council
  • 2008-2011 Deputy Chair, ESA Science Program Committee
  • 2006-2009 Editor, Journal of Geophysical Research
  • 2006-2008 Member, ESA Space Science Advisory Committee
  • since 2002 Austrian Delegate, ESA Science Program Committee
  • 2002-2004 Member, ESA Solar System Working Group
  • 2000-2004 Associate Editor, Geophysical Research Letters
  • 2000-2002 Member Executive Council, German Physical Society
  • 1993-1996 Editor, Journal of Geomagnetism and Geoelectricity
  • 1991-1992 Associate Editor, Journal of Geophysical Research

Honours and Memberships

  • 2018 Basic Science Award, International Academy of Astronautics (IAA)
  • 2016 Styrian Grand Medal of Honour
  • 2014 Austrian Scientist of the Year
  • 2010 Member, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
  • 2009 Full Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • 2007 Corresponding Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • 2007 Austrian Cross of Honour for Science and Art, First Class
  • 2003 Fellow, American Geophysical Union
  • 2002 Full Member, International Academy of Astronautics
  • 2001 ISI Highly-Cited Researcher, Space Science (top 0.5% 1981-1999)




Emil-Abderhalden-Str. 35
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 122
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 139
E-Mail archiv @leopoldina.org