Leopoldina Home Menü

Leopoldina Home

Working Group

Energy Transition 2030 (Completed)

Climate change is a global challenge and can only be resolved by establishing a global climate-neutral energy system. The corona pandemic demonstrates how acutely global crises may threaten us. The economic stimulus packages initiated in this context can also open up new opportunities to support the long-term process of transitioning towards greenhouse gas neutrality. Given these circumstances, Germany's forthcoming EU Council presidency offers the opportunity to further develop efforts of climate protection in a European context.

The issue of climate protection is gaining momentum in the European Union on account of the Green Deal and the Climate Protection Act. By the year 2050, Europe is to become greenhouse gas neutral. In its statement, the ad-hoc working group "Energy Transition 2030" - a joint group of the Academies based on the Academies' initiative "Energy Systems of the Future (ESYS)", which has been in existence since 2013 - will identify paths of action for an effective and efficient climate protection policy in the energy sector. Some of the questions the working group intends to answer are:

  • How can a rapid and fundamental reconstruction of the energy system be successfully achieved?
  • Which measures are necessary to ensure success despite the economic crisis caused by the corona pandemic?
  • Which economic and regulatory control options are available to ensure a successful climate policy and thus, an effective reduction of greenhouse gas emissions?
  • How can German and European policy-makers make an ambitious and effective commitment to climate protection?


  • German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (represented by Prof. (ETHZ) Dr. Gerald Haug)
  • acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering (represented by N.N.)
  • Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities (represented by Prof. Dr. Christoph Markschies)

Spokesperson of the Working Group

  • Prof. Dr. Robert Schlögl ML, Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society & Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim/Ruhr
  • Prof. Dr. Christoph M. Schmidt ML, Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society & Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim/Ruhr

Members of the Working Group

  • Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius ML, Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research Bremerhaven
  • Prof. Dr. Harald Bradke, Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research
  • Dr. Frank-Detlef Drake, innogy SE (in advisory capacity)
  • Prof. Dr. Ottmar Edenhofer ML, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)
  • Prof. Dr. Maximilian Fleischer, Munich (in advisory capacity)
  • Prof. Dr. Bärbel Friedrich ML, former Vice President of Leopoldina, Humboldt University Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Sibylle Günter ML, Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching
  • Prof. Dr. Jutta Hanson, Technical University of Darmstadt
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning, Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems, Freiburg i. B.
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Leohold, Wolfsburg
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Löschel, University of Münster (WWU)
  • Prof. Dr. Karen Pittel, ifo Institute – Leibniz Institute for Economic Research
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Renn ML, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Dirk Uwe Sauer, RWTH Aachen University
  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Schlacke, University of Münster (WWU)
  • Prof. Dr. Ferdi Schüth ML, Max Planck Institute for Coal Research, Mülheim/Ruhr
  • Prof. Dr. Indra Spiecker gen. Döhmann, Goethe University of Frankfurt am Main

ML = Member of the Leopoldina





Jägerberg 1
06108 Halle (Saale)

Phone 0345 - 47 239 - 600
Fax 0345 - 47 239 - 919
E-Mail leopoldina (at)leopoldina.org



Dr. Christian Anton

Scientific Officer, Department Science - Policy - Society

Phone 0345 47 239 - 861
E-Mail christian.anton (at)leopoldina.org